Travalling to Hong Kong
Print
 

Hong Kong is a beautiful and safe city. It is a distinctive meeting place for East and West, blending Chinese heritage and Western influence. Hong Kong offers a diversity of travel experiences, from unique cultural heritage to countryside pursuits. Hong Kong has attractive sightseeing places and the reputation of Shopping and Gourmet Paradises. Travellers can enjoy much in this charming city.

Health and Medical Services

Hong Kong has maintained good public health standards. Major health indicators have reflected that the people in Hong Kong are generally enjoying good health. There has been a steady rise in the life expectancy of population in the past decades. In 2007, life expectancy at birth is 79.3 years for men and 85.4 years for women. Systematic disease surveillance for infectious diseases is in place, such that effective and appropriate preventive and control measures can be initiated early. Public and private sectors provide high-class and comprehensive range of medical and health services to clients.

There is currently no vaccination requirement for travellers visiting Hong Kong. However, travellers should observe good personal and food hygiene and adopt anti-mosquito measures to prevent infectious diseases.

For more information on health and medical services, please visit the websites of the Department of Health , Centre for Health Protection and Hospital Authority .

Travel and Tourism

Hong Kong is the most popular single city destination in Asia . In 2007, a record-breaking number of 28.17 million visitors came to Hong Kong .

For more information on travelling to Hong Kong , please visit the websites of Hong Kong Tourism Board and Tourism Commission .

Geography

Hong Kong is situated at the south-eastern part of the People's Republic of China . It comprises of Hong Kong Island , Kowloon and New Territories (including 262 islands). The area of Hong Kong is 1 104 square kilometres.

For more information on geography, please visit the website of the Government of the Hong Kong SAR .

History

Archaeological studies revealed that there was evidence of ancient human activities in Hong Kong more than 6 000 years ago. Hong Kong Island and Kowloon, which belonged to China during the Qing dynasty (AD 1644 - 1911), was ceded to Britain in 1841 and 1860 respectively. In 1898, the New Territories, an area north of Kowloon up to Shun Chun River and 235 islands, was leased to Britain for 99 years. The Sino-British Joint Declaration, signed between China and Britain in 1984, agreed that Hong Kong was to return to China in 1997 and Hong Kong's lifestyle would remain unchanged for 50 years after 1997. Hong Kong has become a Special Administrative Region (SAR) of the People's Republic of China since 1 July 1997.

For more information on history, please visit the websites of the Government of the Hong Kong SAR , Hong Kong Museum of History and Hong Kong Heritage Museum .

Administration and Law

Under the Basic Law, Hong Kong SAR enjoys a high degree of autonomy. The Chief Executive who is the head of the Hong Kong SAR heads the Government. He is assisted by the Executive Council in policy-making. Legislative Council enacts laws, examines Government budget and public expenditure, debates issue concerning the work of the Government and other public interests etc.

The legal system in Hong Kong is based on the rule of law and the independence of the Judiciary. Laws in force in Hong Kong include the Basic Law, which provides the constitutional framework for the legal system, and enacted ordinances. Enacted laws are written in both Chinese and English and are equally authentic.

For more information on administration and law, please visit the websites of Constitutional and Mainland Affairs Bureau, Judiciary and Department of Justice .

Economy

Hong Kong is a leading international trading and services hub, a high value-added manufacturing base as well as an international finance centre. In 2007, the Gross Domestic Product (GDP) expanded by 6.3% and the per capita GDP at current market prices was HK$232 836.

For more information on economy and finance, please visit the website of the Government of the Hong Kong SAR .

Immigration

Hong Kong maintains a liberal visa policy for visitors. People from about 170 countries and territories may come visa-free for visits ranging from 7 to 180 days. Any person other than those having the right of abode or right to land in Hong Kong, must obtain a visa before coming to Hong Kong for the purpose of education, taking up employment, training, investment or residence. Hong Kong maintains an open and liberal policy towards entry of employment.

For more information on immigration, please visit the website of Immigration Department .

Customs and Excise

Travellers entering Hong Kong at entry points are required to declare to Customs officers the quantity of dutiable goods (liquor, tobacco, cigarette and cigar) which are in excess of the duty-free concessions. To prevent and detect smuggling activities, permits are required to import and export certain prohibited articles.

For more information on customs and excise, please visit the website of Customs and Excise Department .

Population and Language

At the end of 2007, the provisional figure for the population of Hong Kong was 6.92 million. The nationality of the population is predominantly Chinese (95%). Other nationalities include: Filipino (2.0%), Indonesian (1.9%) and Thai (0.4%).

Chinese and English are official languages in Hong Kong. Most Chinese speak Cantonese. Many of them can also communicate in English, Putonghua and other Chinese dialects.

For more information on population and language, please visit the website of the Government of the Hong Kong SAR .

Religion and Custom

Religious freedom is protected by the law. Churches, temples or other worship places of various kinds of religions can be found in Hong Kong.

Hong Kong is rich in time-honoured Chinese creeds and customs. Traditional Chinese festivals (e.g., Lunar New Year, Dragon Boat Festival, Mid-Autumn Festival) are celebrated each year.

For more information on religion and custom, please visit the website of the Government of the Hong Kong SAR .

Weather

Hong Kong has four distinct seasons with a hot, wet summer from July to September as well as a cold, dry winter from January to March every year.

For more information on weather, please visit the website of Hong Kong Observatory.

Housing and Accommodation

The majority of the Hong Kong people live in high-rise buildings. About 30% of people live in public rental housing, 18% in subsidised home ownership flats and the rest in private housing.

A variety of licensed hotels and guesthouses provide accommodation to travellers in Hong Kong . For more information on accommodation, please visit the websites of Home Affairs Department and Hong Kong Hotels Association .

Transport

Extensive road and railway networks and infrastructures have been built for the growing population and continuous development in Hong Kong . Railways, buses, minibuses, ferries , taxis , trams and peak trams etc. offer a choice of different transport modes at reasonable fares and different levels of convenience.

Single adult fares of railways range from $2.0 (Hong Kong Dollars) to $36.5, and $60 to $100 for Airport Express. Bus fares range from $2.5 to $48. Urban taxi fare is $16 for the first 2 kilometres and $1.4 for every 0.2 kilometre thereafter.

For more information on transport, please visit the website of Transport Department.

Recreational and Cultural Activities

A variety of recreational, sports and arts performances and activities are provided by the Government and numerous non-governmental parties. Arts and film festivals are highly regarded. Museums, libraries, countryside, Ocean Park and Hong Kong Disneyland are attractive places to visit.

For more information on recreational and cultural activities, please visit the websites of Leisure and Cultural Services Department as well as Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department .

Currency

The currency used in Hong Kong is Hong Kong Dollars (HK$). Hong Kong dollar notes come in denominations of $10, $20, $50, $100, $500 and $1000. Smaller denominations are divided into coins at values of 10 cents, 20 cents, 50 cents, $1, $2, $5 and $10.

For more information on exchange rates of foreign currency, please visit the website of Hong Kong Trade Development Council.

Voltage

The electronic power provided in Hong Kong is 220V. Plugs with 3 squared pins are commonly used.

Time

The Hong Kong Time is Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) +8.

Telecommunication

Hong Kong has an extensive fixed and mobile telephone network and internet access. Travellers can use coins, phone cards or credit cards to dial public phones.

The country code for international direct dialing for Hong Kong is 852.

Emergency

In case of emergency situation (e.g., accidents, crime, lost or fire), you may dial 999 and ask for assistance.

Useful Telephones and Websites

Emergency

999
992 (Fax for Deaf and Dumb)

Government Hotline 1823
Government of the Hong Kong SAR  

Hong Kong Observatory
Dial-a-Weather

187 8200
Time & Temperature Service

18501 (English)
18503 (Cantonese)

Telephone Directory Enquiry

1081 (English)
1083 (Cantonese)

Hong Kong International Airport 2181 8888
Hong Kong Tourism Board -
Consumer Council 2929 2222

(Information from the website of the Government of the Hong Kong SAR and Hong Kong Year Book 2006)

 

Last revision date: 10 October 2012

來港須知
列印
 

香港是一個美麗和安全的城市,既保留傳統的中國文化,同時深受西方文化的影響。香港是多姿多彩的旅遊勝地,除了有獨特的文化遺產,令人嚮往的郊區,也有五光十色的城市景觀。香港亦享有購物和美食天堂的美譽,旅客 在此 可盡情享受這個魅力之都的生活 。

衞生及醫療

香港有良好的公共衞生水平,主要健康指標顯示香港人一般都享有良好的健康,人口平均預期壽命近年持續增長。2007年,男性的出生時平均預期壽命為79.3歲,女性的出生時平均預期壽命則為85.4歲。香港設有傳染病監察系統,以便盡早採取有效和適當的預防控制措施。另外,香港的公營與私營醫療機構亦提供高水平和多元化的醫療衞生服務。

香港沒有規定旅客到港前要接種疫苗,但旅客亦應注意個人及食物衞生和採取預防蚊蟲的措施,以減少感染傳染病的機會。

如需要更多有關衞生及醫療的資訊,可瀏覽衞生署衞生防護中心醫院管理局網頁。

旅遊

香港被譽為最受旅客歡迎的亞洲城市。2007年到港的旅客便破記錄的高達2 817萬人次。

如需要更多有關香港的旅遊資訊,可瀏覽香港旅遊發展局旅遊事務署網頁。

地理

香港位於中華人民共和國的東南端,由香港島、九龍及新界(包括262個島嶼)三部份組成,總面積為1104平方公里。

如需要更多有關地理的資訊,可瀏覽香港特區政府網頁。

歷史

考古研究顯示,早於六千多年前,香港已有人類活動。1841年及1860年,中國(清代:公元1644 - 1911年)先後將香港島及九龍割讓給英國。1898年,再將九龍以北至深圳河的新界地域,以及235個島嶼,租借給英國,為期99年。1984年中英兩國簽訂《中英聯合聲明》,確定英國於1997年將香港交還給中國,並保證香港的生活方式在1997年後維持50年不變。1997年7月1日,香港成為中華人民共和國的特別行政區。

如需要更多有關歷史的資訊,可瀏覽香港特區政府香港歷史博物館香港文化博物館網頁。

行政及法律

根據《基本法》,香港特別行政區實行高度自治。行政長官是香港特別行政區的首長,行政會議是協助行政長官決策的顧問團,立法會則負責制定法律、審核財政預算及公共開支、對政府的工作及公共利益問題進行辯論等。

香港特別行政區的司法制度,建立在法治和司法獨立的基礎上。香港特別行政區實施的法律包括:《基本法》及香港立法機關制定的法律。香港現行的條例均為雙語法例,中英文本同為真確版本。

如需要更多有關行政及法律的資訊,可瀏覽政制及內地事務局司法機構律政司網頁。

經濟

香港是重要的國際貿易、金融及服務行業中心,亦是高增值製造業的基地。2007年,本地生產總值上升6.3%,按人口平均計算的本地生產總值為232 836港元。

如需要更多有關經濟的資訊,可瀏覽香港特區政府網頁。

香港對訪客實施寬鬆的簽證政策,約有170個國家和地區的人士可免簽證來港旅遊7至180天不等。除了擁有香港居留權或入境權的人士外,任何人來港就讀、就業、受訓、投資或定居前,均須領取簽證。香港亦實行寬鬆靈活的來港就業政策。

如需要更多有關入境的資訊,可瀏覽入境事務處網頁。

海關

任何進入香港的旅客,均須就其超逾免稅優惠數量的應課稅品(酒類、煙草、香煙及雪茄),向海關人員申報。香港海關對違禁品採取管制措施,其中包括:實施許可證制度,以防止及偵緝走私活動。

如需要更多有關香港海關的資訊,可瀏覽香港海關網頁。

人口及語言

截至2007年底,香港人口數字約為692萬人,以華人佔大多數(95%),其次為菲律賓人(2.0%)、印尼人(1.9%)及泰國人(0.4%)。

香港的法定語文為中文及英文。大部份華人使用粵語溝通,亦有不少人使用英語、普通話及其他中國方言。

如需要更多有關人口及語言的資訊,可瀏覽香港特區政府網頁。

宗教及風俗

宗教自由受法律保障。各種宗教的崇拜地方如:教堂、廟宇等均可在香港找到。香港保留中國傳統的風俗習慣,香港人每年均慶祝中國節日如:農曆新年、端午節、中秋節等。

如需要更多有關宗教及風俗的資訊,可瀏覽香港特區政府網頁。

天氣

香港的氣候四季分明,7-9月夏季天氣嚴熱、潮濕,1-3月冬季天氣寒冷、乾燥。

如需要更多有關天氣的資訊,可瀏覽香港天文台網頁。

房屋及住宿

大多數的香港人居住在高樓大廈。約有 30%的人口居於公營租住房屋,另有18%的人購置資助自置居所,其餘的人則居於私營房屋。

香港有不同衞型的持牌酒店、賓館為旅客提供住宿服務。如需要更多有關住宿的資訊,可瀏覽 民政事務總署香港酒店業協會網頁。

交通

香港有龐大的道路及鐵路網絡,以應付不斷增加的人口及持續發展的需要。鐵路巴士公共小型巴士的士渡輪電車及纜車等各種公共交通工具收費合理,而舒適、快捷和方便程度則不盡相同。

鐵路的成人單程車費介乎2.0元(港元)至36.5元,機場快線的車費則由60元至100元。巴士的收費由2.5元至48元不等。市區的士收費為首兩公里16元,以後每0.2公里為1.4元。

如需要更多有關交通的資訊,可瀏覽運輸署網頁。

康樂及文化活動

政府及民間組織提供多元化的康樂、體育、文化表演及活動。當中的藝術節及電影節均享有很高的評價。博物館、圖書館、郊野公園、海洋公園香港迪士尼樂園亦是好去處。

如需要更多有關康樂及文化活動的資訊,可瀏覽康樂及文化事務署漁農自然護理署網頁。

貨幣

香港的流通貨幣為港元。香港流通紙幣的面額分為10元、20元、50元、100元、500元和1 000元;流通硬幣則分為1角、2角、5角、1元、2元、5元和10元。

如需要更多有關外幣兌換率的資訊,可瀏覽香港貿易發展局網頁。

電壓

香港的電壓為220伏特。現時多採用三孔扁平型插座。

時間

香港與格林威治標準時間(Greenwich Mean Time, GMT)的差距為+8。

電訊

香港擁有廣闊的固定通訊網絡、流動通訊網絡,以及寬頻互聯網覆蓋範圍。旅客可使用硬幣、電話咭或信用咭撥公眾電話。

香港的國際直撥長途電話的國家號碼為852。

緊急事故

如遇到緊急事故,例如:意外、劫案、遺失、火警等,可致電999尋求協助。

常用電話及網頁

緊急事故

999
992 (聾啞人士傳真)

政府熱線服務中心 1823
香港特別行政區政府  

香港天文台
打電話問天氣

187 8200
時間及溫度查詢服務

18501 (英語) / 18503 (粵語)

電話號碼查詢

1081 (英語) / 1083 (粵語)

香港國際機場 2181 8888
香港旅遊發展局  
消費者委員會 2929 2222

(資料來源:香港特別行政區政府網頁及《香港年報2006》)

 

 

最近修訂日期: 二零一二年十月十日