[GRAPHICAL VERSION] [繁體版] [簡體版] [SEARCH] [SITE MAP] [CONTACT US ]


 

Relapsing Fever

What is Relapsing Fever?

Relapsing Fever is a bacterial infectious illness caused by members of the genus Borrelia. Lice and ticks are the disease vectors. Louse-borne relapsing fever can be found in any place with lice, but it is more common in places with poor sanitary conditions. The incubation period of louse-borne Relapsing Fever is 2 to 14 days. Tick-borne Relapsing Fever is more common in tropical and sub-tropical regions such as Africa, South America and Middle-East. The incubation period of tick-borne relapsing fever is 2 to 9 days.

The clinical symptoms include fever, chills, vomiting, muscle pain, liver and spleen enlargement. Fever and other symptoms will last for few days and then improve. If no treatment is given, fever and symptoms will recur about one week later. The disease is so named because of this recurrence phenomenon. The clinical symptoms of Louse-borne and Tick-borne Relapsing Fever are basically the same, except that they are less severe in Tick-borne Relapsing Fever.

How does it spread?

Louse-borne Relapsing Fever is transmitted by infected body lice. Lice bite will not transmit the bacteria to human body. However, the bacteria can enter the body through broken skin, eye and nasal mucosa. Tick-borne Relapsing Fever is transmitted by a type of tick called Ornithodoros. The bacteria enter the body through the bite of infected ticks. Infected ticks can be found on the bodies of rodents e.g., rats.

How can you prevent?

There is no vaccine for Relapsing Fever. To prevent getting the disease, avoid close contact with Relapsing Fever patients under isolation. Avoid also contact with rodents can reduce the chance of having tick bite. Boiling or chemicals can be used to disinsect clothes and living areas. Antibiotics can be used for prophylaxis if tick bite in epidemic area experienced.

How is it treated?

Relapsing Fever can be treated by penicillin or tetracycline.

 


[Home]


Last revision date: 10 October 2012

[圖像版本] [English] [簡體版] [搜尋] [網頁指南] [聯絡我們]


回歸熱

回歸熱是什麼?

回歸熱是由包柔螺旋體屬細菌所引起的傳染病,並以蝨和蜱作為傳播媒介傳染給人類。蝨傳回歸熱可出現於任何有蝨的地方,尤以衞生環境較差的地方最為常見,其潛伏期約為2至14日。蜱傳回歸熱則流行於熱帶及亞熱帶地區如非洲、南美洲及中東,潛伏期約為2至9日。

回歸熱的臨床病徵包括發熱、畏寒、嘔吐、全身疼痛、肝臟及脾臟腫大。發熱及其他病徵一般持續數天便會開始退。若沒有適當的治療,約一星期後病徵會再度出現。這種反覆發熱的現象可出現數次,故稱回歸熱。兩種回歸熱的病徵基本相同,但蜱傳回歸熱的病情一般較輕。

回歸熱是怎樣傳播的?

蝨傳回歸熱是經由受感染的體蝨所傳播。蝨子叮咬不會傳播回歸熱,但蝨子中的細菌可從受損的皮膚及眼鼻黏膜進入身體。蜱傳回歸熱則是經由鈍緣蜱所傳播。細菌是由受感染的蜱子叮咬而侵入人體。受感染的蜱子可於囓齒衞動物(例如老鼠)上找到。

怎樣預防回歸熱?

回歸熱並沒有預防疫苗。預防回歸熱應避免與隔離中的病者接觸。避免接觸囓齒衞動物可減低被蜱叮蛟的機會,亦可用煮燙或藥物為衣服及家居進行滅蝨和滅蜱。若進入疫區且被蜱子叮咬,可服用抗生素預防回歸熱。

怎麼醫治回歸熱?

可利用抗生素如盤尼西林、四環素治療回歸熱。

 


[主頁]


最近修訂日期: 二零一二年十月十日