Travel related diseases


Dengue Fever
 Aedes albopictus
Aedes albopictus
(Acknowledgement: Pest Control Advisory Section, Food and Environmental Hygiene Department)

What is Dengue fever?

Dengue Fever is an acute mosquito-borne infection caused by the dengue viruses. The dengue viruses encompass 4 different serotypes. The incubation period ranges from 3 to 14 days, commonly 4 to 7 days. Dengue fever is clinically characterized by sudden onset of high fever, severe headache, pain behind the eyes, joint and muscle pain, loss of appetite, nausea and rash. Some infected people may not develop apparent symptoms, and some may only have mild symptoms like fever, e.g. young children may exhibit a milder non-specific febrile illness with rash.

The symptoms of first infection are usually mild. Once recovered, immunity to that serotype of dengue virus will develop but subsequent infections with other serotypes are more likely to result in severe dengue. Severe dengue is a severe and potentially fatal complication of dengue fever.

Dengue is found in tropical and sub-tropical regions around the world, and is an endemic disease in many Southeast Asian countries including Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia, Laos, Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam and the Philippines. Travellers visiting these places are advised to protect themselves against mosquitoes bites.

How does it spread?

Dengue virus is transmitted to human through the bites of infective female Aedes mosquitoes. This is a day-biting species with increased biting activities for 2 hours after sunrise and several hours before sunset. When a patient suffering from dengue fever is bitten by a vector mosquito, the mosquito is infected and it may spread the disease by biting other people. It cannot be spread directly from person to person.

How can you prevent it?

At present, there is no locally registered dengue vaccine available in Hong Kong. Travellers should protect themselves against mosquito bites. The personal protection measures are as follows:

  • Wear loose, light-coloured, long-sleeved tops and trousers;

  • Avoid using fragrant cosmetics or skin care products;

  • Rest in air-conditioned or well-screened rooms;

  • Use aerosol insecticide indoor and use bed nets if sleeping areas are not air-conditioned or screened.

  • Use insect repellents containing DEET on exposed skin and clothings;

  • Re-apply insect repellents according to instructions;

  • If travelling in endemic rural areas, carry a portable bed net and apply permethrin on it as well as to clothes. Permethrin should not be applied to skin.

How is it treated?

There is no specific medication for dengue fever or severe dengue. Dengue fever is mostly self-limiting. Symptomatic treatment is given to relieve discomfort. Patients with severe dengue should be treated promptly with supportive management. The mainstay of treatment is to maintain the circulating fluid volume.

Dengue, countries or areas at risk, 2013

(with permission from the World Health Organization)


Transmission_ITHRiskMap .png)


Last revision date: 1 August 2016

旅游相关疾病

列印
 

登革热

白纹伊蚊
白纹伊蚊
(鸣谢:食物环境卫生署 防治虫鼠事务谘询组)

登革热是甚么?

登革热是一种由登革热病毒引起的急性传染病,此病毒经由蚊子传播给人类。登革热病毒共有4种不同血清型。此病的潜伏期为 3 – 14 天,通常为 4 – 7 天。登革热的病征包括突发的高烧、严重头痛、眼窝后疼痛、肌肉及关节痛、食欲不振、恶心及出疹。有些人在感染登革热病毒后,可以没有明显的病征,有些人则只会有发热等轻微病征,例如儿童发病时的病况通常较成人为轻,或会出现一般性的发热症状及出疹。

第一次感染登革热的病情一般都较轻,病愈后对该类型病毒会产生免疫能力,但若随后感染其他类型的登革热病毒时,出现重症登革热的机会则较高。重症登革热是一种由登革热所引起的并发症,病情比较严重,可导致死亡。

登革热常见于热带和亚热带地区,在多个东南亚国家如新加坡、马来西亚、印尼、老挝、泰国、柬埔寨、越南和菲律宾等皆属风土病。计划前往有关地区旅游的外游人士应小心防蚊。

登革热是怎样传播的?

登革热透过带有登革热病毒的雌性伊蚊叮咬而传染给人类。伊蚊喜欢在日间叮人,尤其是日出后两小时及日落前数小时。当登革热患者被病媒蚊叮咬后,病媒蚊便会带有病毒,若再叮咬其他人,便有机会将病毒传播。此病并不会经由人与人之间传播。

怎样预防登革热?

现时没有预防登革热的疫苗在本港获注册,故此,最佳的预防方法就是避免给蚊子叮咬,有关预防蚊咬的措施如下:-

  • 外游人士应时常穿着宽松、浅色的长袖上衣和长裤;

  • 避免使用有香味的化妆品或护肤品;

  • 住宿于有空调或装有防蚊网的地方;

  • 如果住宿的地方没有隔蚊或空调设施,最好使用杀蚊喷剂及睡在蚊帐内;

  • 于外露的皮肤及衣服上搽上含有避蚊胺,即DEET 成分的驱蚊剂;

  • 依照指示重复使用驱蚊剂;

  • 如到流行地区的郊外旅行,应带备便携式蚊帐,并在蚊帐上使用氯菊酯(一种杀虫剂)。切勿将氯菊酯涂在皮肤上。

怎样治疗登革热?

目前并没有治疗登革热及重症登革热的药物。患有登革热的人士一般都会自行痊愈,而症状疗法可助纾缓不适。重症登革热患者则须接受适时的支援性治疗,而治疗的主要目的是保持血液循环系统的运作。

登革热-感染风险的国家/地区 (2013年)

(世界卫生组织允许转载)

登革热2013年世界分布图

(资料来源:http://gamapserver.who.int/mapLibrary/Files/Maps/Global_Dengue
Transmission_ITHRiskMap .png)

 

 

最近修订日期: 二零一六年八月一日