Travel related diseases

Print
 

Ebola virus disease

What is Ebola virus disease?

Ebola virus disease (EVD) is formerly known as Ebola Haemorrhagic Fever. It is a severe, often-fatal viral disease affecting humans and nonhuman primates. The disease is caused by infection with Ebola virus which belongs to the family called Filoviridae. The disease has appeared sporadically since its initial recognition in 1976. Confirmed cases of EVD have been reported in sub-Saharan and west Africa region, such as the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Gabon, Sudan, Cote D' Ivoire, Uganda, the Republic of the Congo, Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone.

The incubation period for EVD ranges from 2 to 21 days. It is often characterized by the sudden onset of fever, intense weakness, muscle pain, headache and sore throat. This is followed by vomiting, diarrhoea, rash, impaired kidney and liver function, and in some cases, both internal and external bleeding. The mortality rate can be up to 90%.

How does it spread?

Ebola virus is introduced into the human population through close contact with the blood, secretions, organs or other bodily fluids of infected animals. In Africa, infection has been documented through the handling of infected chimpanzees, gorillas, fruit bats, monkeys, forest antelope and porcupines found ill or dead or in the rainforest.

Ebola virus then spreads in the community through human-to-human transmission, with infection resulting from direct contact (through broken skin or mucous membranes) with the blood, secretions, organs or other bodily fluids of infected people, and indirect contact with environments contaminated with such fluids.

People are infectious as long as their blood and secretions contain the virus. Burial ceremonies in which mourners have direct contact with the body of the deceased person can also play a role in the transmission of Ebola. Healthcare workers in affected countries have frequently been infected through close contact with patients suffering from EVD when infection control measures are not strictly practised. Samples from patients are biohazardous and testing should be conducted under appropriate biological containment conditions.

How can you prevent it?

There is no vaccine for the disease. The best way to prevent the disease is to:

  • Avoid unnecessary visit to affected areas.

  • Observe good personal and environmental hygiene. Frequent handwashing with soap.

  • Ensure thorough cooking of food before consumption.

  • Avoid close contact with ill persons and avoid contact with blood and body fluids of infected people, including items that may have come in contact with an infected person’s blood or body fluids

  • Avoid contact with animals.

How is it treated?

There is no specific treatment for the disease. Patients must be managed in isolation facilities to prevent the spread of the infection. Patients are frequently dehydrated and require oral rehydration with solutions containing electrolytes or intravenous fluids. As close contact with a severely ill patient is a high risk factor for transmission, health care workers should put on protective gears and adopt strict infection control practice when caring for suspected patient

 

Last revision date: 10 September 2014

旅游相关疾病

列印
 

埃博拉(伊波拉)病毒病

什么是埃博拉(伊波拉)病毒病?

埃博拉(伊波拉)病毒病旧称埃博拉出血热,是一种由病毒引起的严重及致命的传染病。人类和灵长类动物均受影响,它是由埃博拉(伊波拉)病毒所引起,属于丝状病毒科。埃博拉(伊波拉)病毒病首次在1976年发现,其后该病于非洲撒哈拉以南的国家和西非地区出现,如 刚果民主共和国加蓬苏丹科特迪瓦乌干达刚果几内亚利比里亚塞拉利昂

埃博拉(伊波拉)病毒病潜伏期约2日至21日,临床病征为突发性发烧、极度虚弱、肌肉疼痛、头痛和咽喉痛等。随后会出现呕吐、腹泻、出疹、肾脏和肝脏功能受损,某些情况下会有内出血和外出血。死亡率可高达90%

埃博拉(伊波拉)病毒病是怎样传播的?

埃博拉(伊波拉)病毒是通过密切接触到感染动物的血液、分泌物、器官或其他体液而传到人类。非洲曾有文件记载,患者通过处理在热带雨林中受感染或死去的黑猩猩、大猩猩、果蝠、猴子、森林羚羊和豪猪而染病。

埃博拉(伊波拉)病毒随后在社区中通过人际间传播加以蔓延。这种传播是通过与感染者的血液、分泌物、器官或其它体液直接接触(通过破损皮肤或黏膜),以及间接接触受到这类体液污染的环境而导致的。

只要人类的血液和分泌物中含有病毒,即可传播疾病。在殓葬仪式上,哀悼者直接接触死者尸体也可传播埃博拉(伊波拉)病毒病。在受影响国家工作的医护人员,在没有严格遵守感染控制预防措施的情况下与病人密切接触时,常意外感染疾病。病人的样本具有生物危害风险,故只有在适当的生物防护条件下才可进行检测

如何预防感染埃博拉(伊波拉)病毒病?

暂时没有预防埃博拉(伊波拉)病毒病的疫苗。预防方法是:

  • 尽量不到受影响地区旅游。

  • 注重个人和环境衞生,勤洗手及使用肥皂。

  • 食物须彻底煮熟才可进食。

  • 避免与患者作紧密接触,及避免接触患者的血液、体液,和可能接触过患者血液或体液的物品。

  • 避免接触动物。

如何治疗埃博拉(伊波拉)病毒病?

暂时没有任何有效的治疗方法。患者应在隔离设施内接受治疗以防疾病的传播。严重病人需要接受深切治疗。病人往往出现脱水,需要服用含有电解质的口服补充液或进行静脉注射。由于紧密接触病患者是一高危因素,医护人员必需使用个人保护装备及实施严格控制感染措施方可为患者进行治疗。

 

 

最近修订日期: 二零一四年九月十日