Travel related diseases

Print
 

Equine Encephalitis

What is Equine Encephalitis?

Equine Encephalitis is a rare viral mosquito-borne disease. Eastern Equine Encephalitis (EEE) is caused by eastern equine encephalitis virus, Western Equine Encephalitis (WEE) is caused by western equine encephalitis virus and Venezuelan Equine Encephalitis (VEE) is caused by Venezuelan equine encephalitis virus. Equine Encephalitis can affect the central nervous system and cause severe complication and death. Symptoms range from mild flu-like illness (like headache, fever, chills and vomiting) to frank encephalitis, coma and death. It is endemic in North, Central and South America.

Approximately a third of all people with EEE die from the disease. Of those who recover, many are left with disabling and progressive mental and physical sequelae. Case fatality of WEE is 3% and neurologic sequalae is seen in 5-30% of infected people and is more common in children. Fatalities are rare for VEE.

How does it spread?

Equine Encephalitis is transmitted to humans through the bite of an infected mosquito. The main EEE transmission cycle is between birds and mosquitoes. Several species of mosquitoes can become infected with EEE virus. WEE virus has a complex lifecycle involving birds and a specific type of mosquito, Culex tarsalis, that is common in farming areas and around irrigated fields. VEE has a zoonotic reservoir in bats, birds, rodents, horses, and donkeys.

People living in or visiting endemic areas and those who work outside or participate in outdoor recreational activities in endemic areas are at increased risk.

How can you prevent it?

At present, vaccine is only available for horses but not for human. Avoiding the bite of mosquito is the best defence against contracting the disease.. The personal protection measures against mosquito bites are as follows:-.

  • Wear long-sleeved shirts and trousers
  • Rest in air-conditioned or well-screened rooms;
  • Use aerosol insecticide indoor and use bed nets if sleeping areas are not air-conditioned or screened.
  • Use insect repellents containing DEET on exposed skin and clothings. For details about the use of insect repellents, please refer to Frequently Asked Questions.
  • If travelling in endemic rural areas, carry a portable bed net and apply permethrin on it as well as to clothes.

How is it treated?

Travellers returning from countries where the disease is endemic or an outbreak has occurred, and suffer from symptoms of the disease should seek prompt medical advice. Currently, there is no specific antiviral drug for Equine Encephalitis and treatment is mainly symptomatic.

 

Last revision date: 27 September 2013

旅游相关疾病

列印
 

马脑炎

马脑炎是甚么?

马脑炎是一种由病毒引起,经蚊媒传播的罕见疾病。东部马脑炎是由东部马脑炎病毒引起的病,而西部马脑炎是由西部马脑炎病毒引起的。委内瑞拉马脑炎是由委内瑞拉马脑炎病毒引致的。马脑炎病毒可入侵中枢神经系统,引起严重的并发症,并可导至死亡。病人可能出现轻微感冒病征(包括头痛、发热、发冷及呕吐),但严重的可能会有脑炎病征、昏迷及死亡。马脑炎主要发现在北美洲,中美洲和南美洲。

约三份一感染东部马脑炎的病人可能死亡,大部份受感染者于康复后亦会有轻微至严重的神经系统后遗症。西部马脑炎的致命率为3%,而5至30%的受感染者会有神经系统后遗症,其中小童较多有后遗症。委内瑞拉马脑炎的致命率较低。

马脑炎是怎样传播的?

马脑炎是由受感染的蚊叮咬传播的。东部马脑炎的传播依赖雀鸟和蚊子。西部马脑炎病毒的传播比较复杂,依靠雀鸟和生活在农场和灌溉地区的库蚊。委内瑞拉马脑炎的宿主包括蝙蝠、鸟类、啮齿类动物、马和驴子。

一些探访或生活于马脑炎流行地区的旅客,或须在这些地区从事户外工作或参加户外活动的人士的染病风险较大。

怎样预防马脑炎?

现时并没有一种适用于人类的有效疫苗来预防马脑炎,只有一种用于马只的疫苗。因此,最佳的预防方法就是避免给蚊子叮咬,有关预防蚊咬的措施如下:-

  • 时常穿着长袖子的衬衫和裤子;
  • 住宿于有空调或装有防蚊网的地方;
  • 如果住宿的地方没有隔蚊或空调设施,最好使用杀蚊喷剂及睡在蚊帐内;
  • 于外露的皮肤及衣服上搽上含有避蚊胺,即DEET驱蚊剂。关于使用昆虫驱避剂的详情,请参阅本网站的常见问题
  • 如果旅行者要前往山林地区,应携带蚊帐和将氯菊酯喷在衣服或蚊帐上以增加保护。

怎么医治马脑炎?

曾前往受影响地区而出现有关征状的旅游人士应尽快求诊。治疗方法主要是舒缓征状,并没有特定的抗病毒药物。

 

 

最近修订日期: 二零一三年八月二十七日