Travel related diseases

Print
 

Lassa Fever

What is Lassa Fever?

Lassa Fever is an acute viral illness caused by Lassa virus. The disease is endemic in Benin, Ghana, Guinea, Liberia, Mali, Sierra Leone, and Nigeria, but probably exists in other West African countries as well. The virus reservoir is a wild rodent.

Incubation period is 6 to 21 days. The patient usually presents gradually with fever, malaise, headache, sore throat, cough, nausea, vomiting, diarrhoea, chest and abdominal pain. In severe cases facial swelling, fluid in the lung cavity, bleeding from the mouth, nose, or gastrointestinal tract. Shock, seizures, tremor, disorientation, and coma may be seen in the later stages. Deafness occurs in 25% of patients who survive the disease. Death usually occurs within 14 days of onset in fatal cases.

How does it spread?

Humans usually become infected with Lassa virus from exposure to urine or faeces of infected rodents. Lassa virus may also be spread between humans through direct contact with the blood, urine, faeces, or other bodily secretions of a person infected with Lassa fever.

How can you prevent it?

There is no vaccine available for Lassa Fever. Travellers to endemic areas have to observe good personal hygiene to minimize the risk of contracting Lassa Fever and adopt the following precautions:-

  • Avoid visiting or sleeping in places of poor environmental hygiene.

  • Do not have contact with sick rodents.

  • Do not contact person with fever.

  • If any symptoms develop on return, one should seek prompt medical advice and inform the doctor of recent travel history to Lassa Fever endemic areas.

How is it treated?

The antiviral drug ribavirin seems to be an effective treatment for Lassa fever if given early on in the course of clinical illness. There is no evidence to support the role of ribavirin as post-exposure prophylactic treatment for Lassa fever.

 

Last revision date: 17 August 2017

旅游相关疾病

列印
 

拉沙热

拉沙热是什麽?

拉沙热是一种名为拉沙病毒所引致的急性病毒感染。拉沙热据知在贝宁丶几内亚丶加纳丶利比里亚丶马里丶塞拉利昂以及尼日利亚流行,但很可能在非洲其它国家也存在。病毒的宿主是一种野鼠。

疾病的潜伏期是6至21日。病者徵状是渐进的,起初会发烧丶疲倦丶头痛丶咽喉痛丶咳嗽丶作闷丶呕吐丶腹泻丶胸部和腹部痛楚。严重者可发展到脸部肿胀,胸腔积水,口,鼻或胃肠道出血。晚期可见休克,癫痫发作,震颤,定向障碍和昏迷。25%的存活患者出现耳聋,其中半数在1至3个月後恢复某些功能。严重病例发病後通常在14天内死亡。

拉沙热是怎样传播的?

人类通常通过接触受感染的野鼠的排泄物感染拉沙病毒。拉沙病毒还可以通过直接接触拉沙热患者的血液,尿液,粪便或其它身体分泌物,在人之间传播。

怎样预防拉沙热?

目前还没有疫苗可预防拉沙热。前往拉沙热流行地区的旅客要注要个人衞生以减少受感染的风险及采取以下预防措施:-

  • 避免在环境衞生条件差的地方出没作息。

  • 切勿接触病鼠。

  • 不要接触发烧的人。

  • 回来後如有任何症状出现,应立即求医,并告知医生曾前往拉沙热流行区。

怎样治疗拉沙热?

在病发早期给予抗病毒药可能对控制病情有帮助。尚无证据支持抗病毒药作为接触後预防性治疗的作用。

 

 

最近修订日期: 二零一七年八月十七日