Travel related diseases

Print
 

Listeriosis

What is listeriosis?

Listeriosis is a serious food-borne infection in human caused by consumption of food contaminated with the bacterium Listeria monocytogenes. Listeriosis also affects a variety of animals. A large variety of food can contain listeria, including unpasteurised milk, soft cheeses, ready-to-eat meats, and seafood. Listeria may grow slowly even at refrigeration temperature.

Listeriosis occurs worldwide, with sporadic incidence. It affects primarily pregnant women, newborns and adults with weakened immune system. A person with Listeriosis has fever, muscle aches, and sometimes gastrointestinal symptoms such as nausea or diarrhoea. In serious cases, there is meningitis or septicaemia. Infected pregnant women may experience only a mild, flu-like illness. However, infections during pregnancy can lead to miscarriage or stillbirth, premature delivery or infection of the newborn. The mortality rate ranges from 30% to 70 %.

How does it spread?

Listeria monocytogens is found in soil and water, so vegetables can be contaminated. Animals can carry the bacterium without illness. Unpasteurised milk or food made from unpasteurised milk may contain the bacterium.

People get listeriosis by eating food contaminated with Listeria. Babies can be born with Listeriosis if their mothers consume contaminated food during pregnancy.

How can you prevent?

Risk for travellers is generally low. Risk is increased by consumption of unpasteurised milk and its products. Travellers can protect themselves by observing good personal hygiene and food hygiene, avoiding risky food and drinks e.g., food and beverages from unhygienic food vendors, undercooked food from animal sources, such as beef, pork, poultry, raw vegetables and unpasteurised milk. Keep uncooked meats separated from vegetables, cooked and ready-to-eat foods. Avoid eating ready-to-eat food which has been refrigerated for more than one day. Wash hands, knives, and cutting boards after handling uncooked food.

For high risk groups, such as pregnant women and immunocompromised persons, they should avoid unpasteurised milk, soft cheeses and raw vegetables and should cook food thoroughly.

How is it treated?

Listeriosis can be treated with antibiotics.

 

Last revision date: 10 October 2012

旅游相关疾病

列印
 

李斯特菌病

什么是李斯特菌病?

李斯特菌病是人类经进食受李斯特菌污染的食物而引起的一种严重的传染病。李斯特菌病亦会影响多种动物。多种食物均可含有李斯特菌,包括:未经低温消毒的牛奶、软干酪、即食肉类及海产。李斯特菌可以在冰箱的温度下缓慢地生长。

全球均有李斯特菌病的报告。孕妇、婴儿及免疫能力低的成年人特别容易受感染。 李斯特菌病的病征包括: 发热、肌肉疼痛和有时会有肠胃的症状如恶心或腹泻,严重时会出现脑膜炎或败血症。孕妇受感染时或只有轻微类似流感的病征,但怀孕期间若胎儿受感染可能导致流产或死胎、早产或新出生婴儿受感染。 李斯特菌病的死亡率可高达三至八成。

李斯特菌病是怎样传播的?

泥土和水都可能含有李斯特菌,因此蔬菜可受到污染。动物也可带有李斯特菌而没有发病。未经消毒的牛奶或其乳制品亦可含有李斯特菌。

人类经进食受李斯特菌污染的食物而受感染。母亲在怀孕期间进食受污染的食物,其初生婴儿可能受感染。

怎样预防李斯特菌病?

旅游人士感染李斯特菌病的风险不高,但多饮用未经消毒的牛奶及进食其乳制品会增加感染的风险。旅客要保持个人及食物卫生,避免进食高风险的食物及饮品,例如:符合卫生标准的小贩出售的食物和饮品、未经煮熟的食物如牛肉、猪肉、家畜肉、生的蔬菜和未经消毒的牛奶。生的肉类应该与蔬菜、煮熟的食物和即食的食物分开存放。 避免进食存放在冰箱超过一天的即食食物。在处理完未经煮熟的食物后,要将手、刀和砧板洗干净。

孕妇与免疫能力低的人应避免饮用未经消毒的牛奶、进食软干酪或未经煮熟的蔬菜,并应彻底煮熟食物才进食。

怎样医治李斯特菌病?

利用抗生素可以医治李斯特菌病。

 

 

最近修订日期: 二零一二年十月十日