Travel related diseases

Print
 

Poliomyelitis

What is Poliomyelitis?

Poliomyelitis is a highly infectious disease of the nervous system caused by poliovirus (types 1, 2, and 3). The disease mainly affects young children under 5 years of age. The incubation period is usually 7 – 10 days, with a range of 4 – 35 days. Most cases are asymptomatic or only have mild symptoms such as fever, tiredness, headache, vomiting, stiffness in the neck, and pain in the limbs. In rare cases (less than 1%), it may result in permanent limbs paralyses. Breathing and swallowing functions may also be affected and can be life-threatening.

How does it spread?

Poliovirus is spread from person-to-person mainly through the faecal-oral route or less frequently, by a common vehicle (for example, contaminated water or food).

How can you prevent it?

Vaccination is the most effective way of preventing the disease. There are two types of polio vaccine: Oral Polio Vaccine (OPV) to be taken by mouth and Inactivated Polio Vaccine (IPV) to be given by injection. As OPV is known to be associated with a rare complication “vaccine-associated paralytic poliomyelitis”, IPV has been used in the Hong Kong Childhood Immunisation Programme since 2007. OPV is no longer used in Hong Kong.

The World Health Organization (WHO) recommends that before travelling to polio-affected areas (i.e. those with active transmission of a wild or vaccine derived poliovirus [VDPV]), travellers from polio-free countries should ensure that they have completed the age-appropriate polio vaccine series, according to their respective national immunisation schedule. Travellers to polio-affected areas who have not received any polio vaccine previously should complete a primary schedule of polio vaccination before departure.

Travellers are also advised to maintain good personal and food hygiene. They should always wash hands before eating or handling food, and after going to toilet to avoid exposure to any potentially contaminated food or drinks.

How is it treated?

There is currently no curative treatment for the disease and the goal of clinical management is to control symptoms. Lifesaving measures such as assistance with breathing may be required in severe cases.

Temporary Recommendations by the WHO

On 5 May 2014, the WHO Director-General declared the international spread of poliovirus to be a Public Health Emergency of International Concern (PHEIC) and issued Temporary Recommendations to reduce the international spread of poliovirus.

Countries infected with wild poliovirus or circulating VDPV (cVDPV) with potential risk of international spread should ensure/encourage that all residents and long-term visitors (i.e. > four weeks) of all ages, receive a dose of polio vaccine between four weeks and 12 months prior to international travel. Those undertaking urgent travel (i.e. within four weeks), should receive a dose of polio vaccine at least by the time of departure. Countries infected with wild poliovirus type 1, cVDPV type 1 or type 3 with potential risk of international spread should ensure such travellers to be provided with an International Certificate of Vaccination or Prophylaxis to record their polio vaccination and serve as proof of vaccination.

Further information on the latest Temporary Recommendations of the WHO and the updated list of affected countries of polioviruses is available on the following website (English only): http://polioeradication.org/polio-today/polio-now/public-health-emergency-status./

 

Last revision date: 22 November 2019

旅游相关疾病

列印
 

小儿麻痹症

小儿麻痹症是什麽?

小儿麻痹症是由脊髓灰质炎病毒(1, 2和3型)引起的高度传染性神经系统疾病。此病主要影响5岁以下的幼儿。它的潜伏期为4 - 35天,通常为7 - 10天。大多数病例并无病徵或仅有轻微病徵,如发烧,疲倦,头痛,呕吐,颈部僵硬和四肢疼痛。在极少数情况下(少於1%),可能导致四肢瘫痪。呼吸和吞咽功能也可能受到影响并可危及生命。

小儿麻痹症是怎样传播的?

脊髓灰质炎病毒主要通过口粪途径在人与人之间传播,它有时也可透过一些共同媒介传播(例如受污染的水或食物)。

怎样预防小儿麻痹症?

接种疫苗是预防小儿麻痹症的最有效方法。现时有两种小儿麻痹疫苗,分别为口服的「小儿麻痹口服剂」及注射的「灭活小儿麻痹疫苗」。由於接种「小儿麻痹口服剂」已知与一种极罕见的并发症「疫苗感染小儿麻痹症」有关,香港儿童免疫接种计划自2007年起采用灭活小儿麻痹疫苗。「小儿麻痹口服剂」已不再在本港使用。

世界衞生组织(世衞)建议由没有受小儿麻痹症影响的国家到访受小儿麻痹症影响的地区(即有脊髓灰质炎野株病毒或传播性疫苗衍生脊髓灰质炎病毒活跃传播的地区)的旅客,应先确保已根据各自国家的免疫计划完成小儿麻痹疫苗系列接种。若旅客从未接种小儿麻痹疫苗,应在出发到受小儿麻痹症影响的地区前完成小儿麻痹症免疫基础接种。

旅客亦应建立良好的个人和食物衞生习惯。进食或处理食物前及如厕後均要洗手。避免食用/饮用怀疑受污染的食物或饮品。

如何治疗小儿麻痹症?

现时并没有药物治疗此病,临床治理主要在於控制病徵。当病严重时,可能需要依靠仪器辅助呼吸,以维持生命。

世界衞生组织的建议

世衞总干事於2014年5月5日宣布脊髓灰质炎病毒的国际传播为国际关注的突发公共衞生事件,并提出了临时建议以减低脊髓灰质炎病毒的国际传播。

受脊髓灰质炎野株病毒或传播性疫苗衍生脊髓灰质炎病毒感染而具国际传播风险的国家,需确保/鼓励所有居民或长期逗留(超过4星期)的旅客在离开该国家前的4星期至12个月内接种一剂小儿麻痹疫苗。如旅客需要紧急离境(即4星期内),也应确保在出发前接种一剂小儿麻痹疫苗。受1型脊髓灰质炎野株病毒丶1型或3型传播性疫苗衍生脊髓灰质炎病毒感染而具国际传播风险的国家应确保向这些旅客提供国际疫苗接种或预防措施证书,以记录其脊髓灰质炎疫苗接种并作为疫苗接种证明。

有关世衞的最新临时建议和受脊髓灰质炎病毒影响的国家,请浏览以下网站(只有英文版): http://polioeradication.org/polio-today/polio-now/public-health-emergency-status./

 

 

最近修订日期: 二零一九年十一月二十二日