Vaccine and prophylaxis

Print
 

Rabies Vaccination

Vaccination schedule

Pre-exposure vaccination is given by 3 doses of inactivated rabies vaccine on days 0,7,21 or 28 as standard primary series. Active immunity develops after the third dose, therefore pre-exposure vaccination should be started one month before travelling. Those who wish to take anti-malaria (chloroquine) should preferably be given vaccine intramuscularly because concurrent use of these drugs may affect the antibody response to intradermal vaccination.


Recommendations

Pre-exposure vaccination is recommended for prolonged trip to endemic areas, particularly for visits to remote rural regions without medical facilities, or people who will travel even for a short period in rabies infected areas if their activities may involve some special risk (hiking, cycling, trekking and animal handling). It should be noted that pre-exposure immunisation does not eliminate the need for post-exposure immunisation. Travellers should therefore seek local medical opinion if bitten by animals abroad even when they had already received a course of pre-exposure immunisation.


Adverse reactions

Pain, reddness, and swelling or itching at the injection sites have been reported among 30 - 70 % of recipients. Systemic reactions such as headache, nausea, abdominal pain, muscle aches, and dizziness have been reported among 5-40% of recipients. Anaphylactic shock and Guillain-Barre Syndrome have been reported very rarely.


Contraindications

Pregnant women and persons with hypersensitivity to neomycin should not be vaccinated unless there is a high risk of the disease or for post-exposure treatment. Persons who are immunosuppressed by disease or medication should defer pre-exposure vaccination because the immune response may not be adequate in such persons, and consider avoiding risky activities afore-mentioned.

 

Last revision date: 10 October 2012

疫苗与药物

列印
 

狂犬病疫苗接种

接种时间表

标准的基本伤前接种是分别于0, 7, 21或28天注射狂犬病疫苗,注射第三针后就可产生免疫效果,所以旅游出发前一个月应接受伤前接种。如需要同时服用预防疟疾药物(例如氯奎因),最好是接受肌肉注射疫苗,因为这类预防疟疾的药物会影响抗体反应。

建议用途

伤前接种宜用于要长期逗留疫区的旅客,特别是要去偏远和缺乏医疗设施的乡村地方,或者在疫埠逗留虽然很短时间的旅客,但他们的活动属于高危险性(远足、乘脚踏车、和处理动物)。有一点要注意的是伤前接种并不可以排除伤后接种的需要性,所以旅客在外地被动物咬伤,就算已有伤前接种,也应该向当地医生求诊。

副作用

百份之三十至七十的伤前接种者会在打针的地方产生疼痛、红斑、肿胀和发痒。百份之五至四十的接种者会产生全身的反应,例如头痛、恶心、肚痛、肌肉痛和头晕。发生过敏性休克和格一巴二氏综合征的机会很小。

禁忌

对新霉素有过敏者或怀孕者均不应接种,除非有高度接触狂犬病的风险或者需要作伤后治疗。因患病或药物影响而免疫系统受抑制者应推迟伤前接种,因为这类人士未必能产生足够的免疫反应,而他们也应考虑避免上述高危险性的活动。

 

 

最近修订日期: 二零一二年十月十日