Travel related diseases

Print
 

Brucellosis

What is Brucellosis?

Brucellosis is an infectious disease caused by the bacteria of the genus Brucella. It is primarily a disease of animals but may also affect humans. The disease occurs worldwide especially in Mediterranean countries of Europe and north Africa, east Africa, west Asia, central Asia, India, Mexico, Central and South America. Cattle, pigs, goats, sheep, bison, elk, caribou, dog and deer are the common sources of infection.

The incubation period of the disease varies from days to months. People infected with the Brucella bacteria usually develop symptoms similar to a severe influenza which may include fever, chills, drenching sweats, headache, back pain, physical weakness and loss of weight and appetite. Brucellosis can also cause long-lasting or chronic symptoms that include recurrent fevers, joint pain, and fatigue.

How is it transmitted?

Most humans contract the disease by consuming unpasteurized milk from infected animals or direct contact with carcasses or aborted fetuses of diseased animals. Direct person-to-person spread of brucellosis is extremely rare. Mothers who are breast-feeding may transmit the infection to their infants.

How to prevent it?

Do not consume unpasteurized milk, cheese, or ice cream while traveling. Use rubber gloves to handle carcass or viscera of animals when hunting. There is no vaccine available for humans.

How to treat it?

Brucellosis can be treated by antibiotics. A long course of antibiotics is used to prevent relapse. Depending on the timing of treatment and severity of illness, recovery may take a few weeks to several months.

 

Last revision date: 10 October 2012

旅遊相關疾病

列印
 

布氏桿菌病

布氏桿菌病是什麼﹖

布氏桿菌病是一種由布魯氏菌屬引起的疾病。此病屬於動物原性傳染病,常見於牛、野牛、豬、綿羊、山羊、狗及鹿科動物當中。布氏桿菌病在世界各地也有出現,特別在毗鄰地中海的歐洲及北非洲國家、東非、西亞、中亞、印度、墨西哥和中南美洲等國家尤為常見。

布氏桿菌病的潛伏期由幾天至幾個月不等,病發時會出現類似感冒的病徵,包括發熱、畏寒、出汗、頭痛、背痛、虛弱、體重下降及食慾不振等。布氏桿菌病也可引起反覆性發熱、關節痛和疲倦等慢性病徵。

布氏桿菌病是怎樣傳播的?

大部份人類感染布氏桿菌病都是經由食用來自染病動物而未經低熱殺菌處理的奶類製品及接觸染病動物的屍體或胎兒而染病,亦可經由母乳餵哺傳播,但直接人傳人的個案則極為罕見。

怎樣預防布氏桿菌病?

旅行時切勿食用未經低熱殺菌處理的奶類製品、芝士及雪糕。狩獵時及處理動物內臟時應使用膠手套。現時並沒有疫苗可作預防之用。

如何治療布氏桿菌病?

布氏桿菌病是可以用抗生素治療的。此病需要長時間的抗生素治療以防止復發。根據治療的時間和病情的嚴重程度,可能需要幾個星期到幾個月的時間才能康復。

 

 

最近修訂日期: 二零一二年十月十日