Travel related diseases

Print
 

Cholera

What is cholera?

Cholera is an acute disease of the gastrointestinal tract caused by the bacterium called Vibrio cholerae. The incubation period ranges from a few hours to 5 days. While most patients have no symptoms or only mild diarrhea, some develop severe watery diarrhea with ‘rice water’ like stool and vomiting. Without prompt treatment, these patients may die from severe dehydration.

How does it spread?

Cholera is usually contracted through consumption of food or water contaminated directly or indirectly with faeces or vomitus of infected persons. The disease can occur in large-scale epidemics where proper sanitary measures have broken down. Raw or undercooked seafood from polluted water can cause outbreaks. Human-to-human transmission rarely happens.

How can you prevent it?

It is most important to maintain good personal and food hygiene. Avoid eating raw food and cold dishes such as salads. Travellers should eat food that has been thoroughly cooked. Wash and peel fruit yourself. Avoid food and beverage from unlicensed street vendors. Drink boiled water and avoid ice in beverage. If water cannot be boiled, water should be treated with chlorine or iodine before consumption (follow the instructions on the package carefully). Travellers should always wash hands before eating and after going to toilet.

Oral cholera vaccine is rarely recommended except for those at high risk e.g. aid workers. It is not officially required as a condition of entry of any country.

How is it treated?

The mainstay of treatment is timely and adequate fluid and electrolytes replacement. Oral or intravenous fluid may be given. Pre-packed oral rehydration solution is widely available. Antibiotic may be used to shorten the duration of diarrhoea and diminish the severity of illness.

Cholera,2010

Last revision date: 22 February 2017

旅遊相關疾病

列印
 

霍亂

霍亂是什麼?

霍亂是一種由霍亂弧菌所引起的急性腸胃病。潛伏期由幾個小時至五天不等。大部分患者並沒有病徵或只出現輕微腹瀉。一些患者可能會出現大便呈米水狀的嚴重腹瀉和嘔吐。若未能及時接受適當治療,便有可能因嚴重脫水而死亡。

霍亂是怎樣傳染的?

霍亂通常透過進食直接或間接受病患者的糞便或嘔吐物污染的食物或食水感染到。如環境衞生水平惡化,可能令大規模的疫症爆發。從受污染的海水裏捉捕的海產,如未經煮熟或生吃可能引致疾病爆發。人與人之間的傳播並不常見。

怎樣預防霍亂?

要預防霍亂,最重要是建立良好的個人和食物衞生習慣。避免進食未經煮熟或涼拌食物如沙律。旅客應進食徹底煮熟的食物。水果應該自己清洗及削皮後才吃。不要光顧街邊無牌小販。只飲用煮沸的水及避免飲用加冰的飲品。如未能煮沸食水,應該飲用經過氯或碘處理的食水(小心遵照包裝上的指示使用)。旅客應在進食前和如廁後洗手。

除一些高危人士(如前往救援的人員)外,一般都不建議旅客接種口服霍亂疫苗。現時各國均無官方規定,要求旅客出示霍亂疫苗接種證明作為入境條件。

怎樣治療霍亂?

治療霍亂的主要方法是及時補充流失的液體和電解質。患者可透過口服或靜脈注射液來處理。口服補液鹽溶液在市面上有售。使用抗生素可能縮短腹瀉的期間,同時減少疾病的嚴重性。

霍亂2010年世界分佈圖

 

最近修訂日期: 二零一七年二月二十二日