Travel related diseases

Print
 

Hepatitis A

What is Hepatitis A?

Hepatitis A is an infection affecting the liver caused by hepatitis A virus (HAV). The incubation period ranges from 15–50 days and is usually 14 to 28 days. Typical signs and symptoms of hepatitis A include fever, malaise, abdominal discomfort, loss of appetite, nausea, diarrhoea and jaundice (yellow discoloration of skin and sclera of the eyes).

Some people with hepatitis A infection may not have any signs and symptoms of the disease. Adults are more likely to have signs and symptoms than children. Recovery from symptoms following infection may take several weeks or months. Hepatitis A does not cause chronic liver disease and is rarely fatal, but it can cause fulminant hepatitis (acute liver failure), which is associated with high fatality rates.

How does it spread?

HAV is transmitted primarily by the faecal-oral route, that is when an uninfected person ingests food or water that has been contaminated with the faeces of an infected person. The virus can also be transmitted through close physical and sexual contact with an infectious person, and is not limited to anal-oral contact. Hepatitis A outbreaks among men who have sex with men have been reported. Waterborne outbreaks, though infrequent, are usually associated with sewage-contaminated or inadequately treated water.

How can you prevent it?

Travellers can protect themselves by observing good personal hygiene and food hygiene. They should always wash their hands before eating or handling food, and after going to the toilet. They should avoid drinking contaminated water or beverage with ice of doubtful origin, eating uncooked or undercooked food, particularly shellfish, and eating cut or peeled fruits.

Safer sexual practice and strict personal hygiene to avoid direct and indirect faecal-oral contact are keys to preventing hepatitis A via sexual transmission.

Hepatitis A vaccine is available and is highly effective in preventing hepatitis A infection. Persons who are at increased risk for acquiring hepatitis A and persons with increased risk for severe adverse consequences should discuss with their doctors about hepatitis A vaccination for personal protection. According to the Scientific Committee on Vaccine Preventable Diseases, Centre for Health Protection, the following groups are recommended to have hepatitis A vaccination:

  • Travellers to endemic areas of hepatitis A
  • Persons with clotting factors disorders receiving plasma-derived replacement clotting factors
  • Persons with chronic liver diseases
  • Men who have sex with men

It is used in persons one year of age or older. The first dose of Hepatitis A vaccine shall be administrated at least 2 weeks before departure.

How is it treated?

There is no specific treatment for hepatitis A. Therapy is aimed at relieving discomfort and maintaining adequate nutritional balance, including replacement of fluids that are lost from vomiting and diarrhoea.

 

Last revision date: 13 August 2019

旅遊相關疾病

列印
 

甲型肝炎

甲型肝炎是甚麼?

甲型肝炎是由甲型肝炎病毒所引起的肝臟感染。潛伏期介乎15 - 50天,通常為14 - 28天。甲型肝炎的病徵包括發燒、疲倦、腹部疼痛、食慾不振、作嘔、腹瀉及黃疸(皮膚及鞏膜變黃)。

有些受感染人士是沒有任何病徵及病狀的。成人出現病徵的情況較兒童多。患者可能需要數星期或數月的時間康復。甲型肝炎感染不會造成慢性肝病,也很少致命,但亦有機會出現可引致高死亡率的暴發性肝炎(急性肝衰竭)。

甲型肝炎是怎樣傳播的?

甲型肝炎病毒主要是通過糞口途徑傳播,即透過進食受感染者糞便污染的食物或水而傳播。另外,與感染者有緊密接觸或性接觸(不限於肛口接觸)亦可傳播甲型肝炎病毒。男男性接觸者之間亦曾經爆發甲型肝炎傳染。水傳的甲型肝炎爆發雖不常見,通常與水源受污水污染或沒經足夠處理的水有關。

怎樣預防甲型肝炎?

旅遊者首先要保持個人及食物衞生。進食或處理食物前及如廁後均要洗手。避免飲用受污染的水,或加入來歷不明的的冰塊。避免進食生或未經徹底煮熟的食物,尤其是貝殼類食物,及一些已切開或已去皮的水果。

安全性行為及時刻保持個人衞生是預防直接或間接經糞口途徑感染甲型肝炎的關鍵。

甲型肝炎的預防疫苗十分有效。高危人士(包括較易感染甲型肝炎的人士和較常發生嚴重不良後果的人士)可諮詢醫生有關接種疫苗事宜,以保障個人健康。根據衞生防護中心轄下的疫苗可預防疾病科學委員會的建議,以下人士應接受甲型肝炎疫苗預防注射:

  • 前往甲型肝炎流行地區的外遊人士
  • 患有凝血因子疾病而需要接受血漿衍生凝血因子替代治療人士
  • 患有慢性肝病的人士
  • 男男性接觸者

一歲以上的人士均能接種。第一劑甲型肝炎疫苗需於出發前最少二星期接種。

怎樣治療甲型肝炎?

目前沒有特定藥物醫治甲型肝炎,治療方法主要是舒緩身體不適和保持均衡營養,包括補充因嘔吐和腹瀉而流失的水分。

 

 

最近修訂日期: 二零一九年八月十三日