Travel related diseases

Print
 

Leptospirosis

What is leptospirosis?

Leptospirosis is a disease caused by bacteria of the genus Leptospira and affects humans and animals. Leptospira is common worldwide, especially in tropical countries with heavy rainfall, and can live for a long time in fresh water, damp soil, vegetation, and mud. Flooding after heavy rainfall helps spread the bacteria in the environment.

It is an occupational hazard for many people who work outdoors or with animals. It is a recreational hazard for campers or those who participate in outdoor water sports in contaminated lakes or rivers such as swimming, wading, and whitewater rafting.

The incubation period is usually 5 to 14 days, with a range of 2 to 30 days. Symptoms include high fever, severe headache, chills, muscle aches, vomiting, and may also include jaundice (yellowish discoloration of skin and eyes), red eyes, abdominal pain, diarrhoea, or rash. If the disease is not treated, the patient could develop potentially fatal infections of the kidneys, liver, brain, lungs or heart and even death.

What is the route of transmission for leptospirosis?

Humans become infected through contact with water, food, or soil containing urine from infected animals, especially rodents. This may happen through skin contact, especially with mucosal surfaces, such as the eyes or nose, or with broken skin or by swallowing contaminated food or water. The disease can also be transmitted through rodent bites. Person-to-person transmission is rare.

How to prevent leptospirosis?

Travellers could acquire the disease from outdoor sports activities in tropical countries. They can reduce the risk by adopting the following:-

  • Avoid contact with fresh water, soil, and vegetation that might be contaminated with the urine of infected animals, especially rodents. Never touch a dead animal with bare hands.

  • Avoid swimming or wading in potentially contaminated water.

  • Wash or shower after exposure to contaminated water or soil.

  • Clean wound immediately and cover properly with waterproof adhesive dressings until healed.

  • Wear appropriate -protective clothing or footwear , when participating in recreational or work activities that might result in contact with contaminated soil or water.

  • Drink only boiled water from the mains or bottled drinks from reliable sources.

How to treat leptospirosis?

The disease can be treated with antibiotics. Treatment should be started as soon as possible. Severely ill persons might need intravenous antibiotic treatment and other supportive care.

 

Last revision date: 8 July 2019

旅遊相關疾病

列印
 

鈎端螺旋體病

鈎端螺旋體病是甚麼?

鈎端螺旋體病是一種由端螺旋體屬細菌引起的疾病,可感染人類和動物。鈎端螺旋體屬細菌在全世界廣泛存在,尤其是在降雨量多的熱帶國家。它可在淡水、潮濕的土壤、植物和淤泥存活很久。大雨後的洪水有助將細菌在周圍環境傳播。

鈎端螺旋體病對戶外工作或需接觸動物的人士構成職業病風險,對遊玩人士亦會造成威脅,包括露營、在受污染的湖泊和河流進行水上運動,例如游泳、涉水和乘激流划筏。

疾病潛伏期為2 - 30 天,一般約5 - 14 天。徵狀包括發高燒、嚴重頭痛、發冷、肌肉疼痛和嘔吐, 亦可能出現黃疸(眼球和皮膚呈黃色)、 紅眼、腹痛、腹瀉或出疹。如果病人不及早接受治理,可能會出現致命性的腎臟、肝臟、腦部、肺部或心臟感染,甚至引致死亡。

鈎端螺旋體病是怎樣傳播的?

受感染動物(尤其是齧齒動物)尿液污染的水、食物或土壤可傳播此病給人類。這些情況包括皮膚接觸到污染物,尤其是黏膜表面(如眼睛或鼻子)或破損的皮膚,或食用受污染的食物和飲用受污染的水。此病亦可透過被齧齒動物咬傷而傳播。人與人之間的傳播是罕見的。

怎樣預防鈎端螺旋體病?

旅客有可能在熱帶國家進行戶外運動時受到感染。採取以下措施可減少風險:

  • 避免接觸可能受感染動物(尤其是齧齒動物)尿液污染的淡水、土壤和植物。切勿用雙手直接接觸已死亡的動物。

  • 避免在可能遭受污染的水中游泳或涉水。

  • 接觸受污染的水或土壤後應進行清洗或淋浴。

  • 儘快清潔傷口,並用防水敷料妥善覆蓋傷口直至癒合。

  • 在可能受污染的土壤或水中進行消遣活動或工作時,應穿上適當的保護衣或靴子。

  • 只飲用煮沸後的自來食水或出品自可靠商戶的樽裝飲品。

怎樣醫治鈎端螺旋體病?

抗生素可治療鈎端螺旋體病,患者應儘快接受治療。病情嚴重者或須留院治理,接受抗生素靜脈注射和其它支援治理。

 

 

最近修訂日期: 二零一九年七月八日