Travel related diseases

Print
 

Measles

What is Measles?

Measles is an infection caused by Measles virus. The incubation period usually ranges from 7-18 days, but can be up to 21 days. Affected persons will present initially with fever, cough, runny nose, red eyes and white spots inside the mouth. This is followed 3 to 7 days later by a red blotchy skin rash, which usually spreads from face to the rest of the body. The rash usually lasts 4 - 7 days, but can persist for up to 3 weeks leaving with brownish staining and sometimes fine skin peeling. In severe cases, lung, gut and brain can get involved and lead to serious consequences or even death.

How does it spread?

This can be transmitted airborne by droplet spread or by direct contact with nasal or throat secretions of infected persons, and less commonly, by articles soiled with nose and throat secretions. Measles is one of the most highly communicable infectious diseases. The patient can pass the disease to other persons from 4 days before to 4 days after appearance of the rash.

How can you prevent it?

Travellers can protect themselves by observing good personal hygiene. They should always keep their hands clean and wash hands properly, especially after coughing and sneezing.

Vaccination against measles is the most effective preventive measure. In Hong Kong, children are given measles-containing vaccines at 1 year old and in Primary 1. The World Health Organization suggests that the vaccine can be given to infants at the age of 9 months if they were to travel to measles-affected areas where the death rate is high. Travellers should consult their doctor for advice if they are going to travel to measles-affected areas with an unvaccinated infant.

How is it treated?

Affected persons should avoid contact with non-immune persons, especially those with weakened immunity, pregnant women and infants. Although there is no specific treatment, drugs may be prescribed to reduce the symptoms and antibiotics may be used to treat bacterial complications.

 

Last revision date: 7 September 2016

旅遊相關疾病

列印
 

麻疹

麻疹是甚麼?

麻疹是由麻疹病毒所引起的傳染病。潛伏期一般為7至18天,但可長達21天。受感染的人初時會發燒、咳嗽、流鼻水、眼紅及口腔內出現白點。3至7天後皮膚會出現污斑紅疹,通常會由面部擴散到全身,維持4至7天,亦可能長達3個星期,留下褐色斑痕或出現脫皮。病重者的呼吸系統、消化道及腦部會受影響,引致嚴重後果甚至死亡。

麻疹是怎樣傳播的?

麻疹可透過空氣中的飛沫或直接接觸病人的鼻喉分泌物而傳播,透過被鼻喉分泌物弄污的物件傳播的機會則較低。麻疹是一種高傳染性的疾病。病人從出疹前4天至出疹後4天內可把病傳染給別人。

怎樣預防麻疹?

旅遊者首先要維持良好的個人衞生。保持雙手清潔,並用正確的方法洗手,尤其是打噴嚏或咳嗽後。

防疫注射是最有效預防麻疹的方法。香港政府有為一歲及小一的兒童接種含麻疹疫苗。世界衛生組織建議在麻疹疫情活躍而死亡風險較高地區,應提前在9個月大時為幼兒接種麻疹第一劑疫苗。任何旅客如要帶未滿一歲尚未接種疫苗的幼兒前往麻疹疫情活躍地區時,可於出發前向醫生查詢是否需要提早接種疫苗。

怎樣治療麻疹?

麻疹病人應避免與未有免疫力人士接觸,尤其是抵抗力弱人士、孕婦及未滿一歲的兒童。雖然現時未有特定療法,但可處方藥物紓緩病徵,亦可採用抗生素醫治由細菌引致的併發症。

 

 

最近修訂日期: 二零一六年九月七日