Travel related diseases

Print
 

Meningococcal Infection

What is Meningococcal Infection?

Meningococcal Infection is caused by the bacteria Neisseria meningitidis. The disease is mainly transmitted by droplets via coughing or sneezing or by direct contact through respiratory secretions from infected persons. The incubation period varies from 2 – 10 days, commonly 3 – 4 days. The clinical picture may be variable. It may result in severe illness when the bacteria invade the bloodstream (meningococcaemia) or the membranes that envelop the brain and spinal cord (meningococcal meningitis).

Meningococcaemia is characterised by sudden onset of fever, intense headache, purpura, shock and even death in severe cases. Meningococcal meningitis is characterised by high fever, severe headache, stiff neck followed by drowsiness, vomiting, fear of bright light, or rash; it can cause brain damage or even death. The brain damage may lead to intellectual impairment, mental retardation, hearing loss and electrolyte imbalance.

What is the risk of acquiring the disease for travellers?

In general, the risk of acquiring meningococcal infection while travelling is low. However, the disease incidence is higher in sub-Saharan Africa extending from Senegal to Ethiopia (African meningitis belt), particularly during the dry season (December to June) and hence a higher risk of contracting the disease. Moreover, the risk for long-stay travellers living in close contact with the indigenous population is also higher.

How can you prevent it?

Meningococcal infection is transmitted by droplets via coughing or sneezing or by direct contact through respiratory secretions from infected persons. Therefore, travellers should pay attention to the following points:

  • Wash hands properly and frequently, and observe good personal and environmental hygiene;
  • Avoid going to crowded or poorly ventilated places; high-risk individuals may consider putting on surgical masks while in such places;
  • Avoid close contact with patients having fever or severe headache;
  • Cover the nose and mouth when coughing or sneezing and dispose of nasal and mouth discharge in lidded rubbish bin; wash hands immediately afterwards.

Meningococcal vaccines have been registered in Hong Kong. To minimise the risk of meningococcal infection, vaccination may be considered for the following groups of travellers:

  • Travellers to the sub-Saharan Africa during the dry season according to the risk of exposure and local epidemic situations;
  • Travellers to areas that are known to experience epidemic meningococcal disease as announced by authorities; and
  • Travellers aged over 2 years visiting Saudi Arabia for Hajj, Umrah or for seasonal work in Hajj zones should bring along certificate of vaccination with the quadrivalent (serogroups A,C,Y & W135) meninogococcal vaccine administered not less than 10 days before arrival in Saudi Arabia. Further information is available at the website of the Ministry of Health of the Saudi Arabia (https://www.moh.gov.sa/en/Hajj/HealthGuidelines/HealthGuidelinesDuringHajj/Pages/MeningococcalMeningitis.aspx).

Travellers should seek professional advice from doctors for vaccination in view of the individual’s age and health condition, and details of the journey such as place, duration and nature.

How is it treated?

Meningococcal infection is a serious illness. Patients must be treated promptly with antibiotics. Close contacts should be placed under surveillance to observe for early symptoms of the disease and may need to take preventive medications as necessary.

 

Last revision date: 28 October 2019

旅遊相關疾病

列印
 

腦膜炎雙球菌感染

腦膜炎雙球菌感染是甚麼?

腦膜炎雙球菌感染是由腦膜炎雙球菌引起的。此病主要經由患者咳嗽或打噴嚏而產生的飛沫或直接接觸患者呼吸道分泌物而傳播。此病的潛伏期為2至10天,一般為3至4天。臨牀病徵並不一致;當細菌入侵血液(腦膜炎雙球菌血症)或包圍腦部及脊髓的內膜(腦膜炎雙球菌感染)時,可引致嚴重病症。

腦膜炎雙球菌血症的病徵包括突發性發燒、劇烈頭痛、皮膚出現瘀斑、休克,而嚴重者甚至會致命。流行性腦膜炎病徵包括發高燒、劇烈頭痛、頸部僵硬及嗜睡,亦會有嘔吐、畏光或皮疹等情況出現,若情況嚴重更可造成腦部損害或死亡。腦部損害可導致智力受影響、智力發展遲緩、失聰及電解質失衡。

旅遊人士染上腦膜炎雙球菌感染的機會有多大?

旅遊人士染上腦膜炎雙球菌感染的機會一般較低,但於非洲撒哈拉沙漠以南,由塞內加爾至埃塞俄比亞的地區(非洲腦膜炎帶),尤其在旱季(十二月至六月),疾病的發生率較高,因此感染此病的風險亦較高。此外,長期逗留並與當地居民有緊密接觸的人士感染此病的風險也較高。

怎樣預防腦膜炎雙球菌感染?

腦膜炎雙球菌感染是經由患者咳嗽或打噴嚏而產生的飛沫或直接接觸患者呼吸道分泌物而傳播,因此旅遊人士應留意以下幾點:

  • 經常正確地洗手,保持良好個人及環境衞生;
  • 避免到人多擠迫或空氣流通欠佳的地方;高危人士在這些地方逗留時可考慮佩戴外科口罩;
  • 避免與有發燒或嚴重頭痛的病人作緊密接觸;
  • 在咳嗽或打噴嚏時應掩蓋口鼻,將分泌物用紙巾包好,然後棄置於有蓋的垃圾桶內並立即洗手。

腦膜炎雙球菌疫苗已在香港註冊。為減低受感染的機會,以下的旅遊人士可考慮接種腦膜炎雙球菌疫苗:

  • 根據風險評估和當地疫情,在旱季逗留在撒哈拉沙漠以南地區的人士;
  • 前往當地衞生部門已公布腦膜炎雙球菌感染流行的地區的人士;
  • 前往沙地阿拉伯的麥加參加朝覲或小朝的人士,須攜帶腦膜炎雙球菌四價(A、C、Y和W135型)疫苗接種記錄,該記錄必須於抵達當地前 10 天發出。市民可瀏覽沙地阿拉伯衞生部的網頁以獲取更多資料(https://www.moh.gov.sa/en/Hajj/HealthGuidelines/HealthGuidelinesDuringHajj/Pages/MeningococcalMeningitis.aspx)。

外遊人士應根據個人的年齡和健康狀況,以及外遊的詳細資料如地點,時間和性質,向醫生尋求接種疫苗的專業建議。

如何治療腦膜炎雙球菌感染?

腦膜炎雙球菌感染是一種嚴重的疾病,患者須盡快接受抗生素治療。與患者有緊密接觸的人士則需接受醫學監察,以察早期病徵,並在有需要時服用預防性藥物。

 

 

最近修訂日期: 二零一九年八月八日