Travel related diseases

Print
 

Plague

What is plague?

Plague, sometimes called Black Death, is a communicable disease that affects rodents, some animals and humans. It is caused by a bacterium called Yersinia pestis. There are three main forms of plague infection: bubonic, pneumonic and septicaemic. Plague in human is a serious disease with a case-fatality ratio of 30% - 60% for the bubonic type, and is always fatal for the pneumonic type when left untreated.

Patients with bubonic plague typically experience a sudden onset of illness characterised by fever, headache, chills, malaise and painful swelling of the affected regional lymph nodes. The swollen lymph node is called a ‘bubo’. This is the common form of plague and is termed bubonic plague.

The infection can progress to septicaemic plague when the Yersinia pestis invade the blood stream. The infection can be spread to other organs and cause serious complications.

Patients with pneumonic plague typically present with fever, chills, headache, body pains, weakness and chest discomfort, cough with blood-stained sputum, difficulty in breathing and may die rapidly if not treated immediately. The patient is highly infectious in this most serious form of plague.

The incubation period of bubonic plague is usually 2 – 6 days while the incubation period for primary pneumonic plague is usually 1 – 4 days.

How does it spread?

Plague is transmitted from an infected animal (mainly rodent) to humans through the bite of infected animal's fleas. People can also contract plague when cuts or other breaks in their skin come into contact with the body fluid or tissue of infected animals, or through inhalation of infected respiratory droplets. Bubonic plague is not usually transmitted directly from person to person unless there is contact with pus from suppurating buboes. Pneumonic plague is highly contagious. It can spread between humans by inhalation of respiratory droplets from an infected person.

Where is plague found?

As an animal disease, plague is found in all continents, except Oceania. Plague epidemics have occurred in Africa, Asia and South America. Since the 1990s, most human cases have occurred in Africa. The three most endemic countries are the Democratic Republic of Congo, Madagascar and Peru.

How is it treated?

Plague patient should be isolated and treated with appropriate antibiotics.

How can you prevent it?

At present, no plaque vaccine is commercially available.

Travellers should avoid visiting plague-affected areas. If travel to such areas is necessary, travellers should take heed of the preventive measures below:-

  • Prevent flea bites by wearing long-sleeved shirts and trousers, and applying insect repellent/insecticide. DEET-containing insect repellent can be applied to exposed skin and clothing, while insecticide containing permethrin can be applied to clothing, not the skin. Travellers can refer to the CHP's tips for using insect repellents ;
  • Avoid going to rural areas, camping or hunting;
  • Never touch rodents, dead animals and their tissues or contaminated materials;
  • Avoid close contact with patients, especially those with cough or chest infection;
  • Avoid going to crowded areas in regions where cases of pneumonic plague have been recently reported.

In case of sudden symptoms of fever, chills, painful lumps, or shortness of breath with coughing and/or blood-tainted sputum after visiting plague-affected areas, travellers should seek medical care immediately and inform doctor about their travel history.

Travellers should consult doctor immediately after contact or exposure to pneumonic plague patients or other high risk exposures (such as bites from fleas or direct contact with body fluids or tissues of potentially infected animals) for prompt assessment of the need for preventive medication. Travellers should avoid self-administration with antibiotics, unless recommended by medical professionals.

 

Last revision date: 23 October 2017

旅遊相關疾病

列印
 

鼠疫

鼠疫是甚麼?

鼠疫,又名黑死病,是一種可感染齧齒動物、一些動物和人類的傳染病。它由鼠疫耶爾森桿菌 所引致。鼠疫感染主要有三種:腺鼠疫、肺鼠疫和敗血性鼠疫。人類感染鼠疫是嚴重疾病,如沒有接受治療,腺鼠疫病死率為30% - 60%,而肺鼠疫大多是致命的。

腺鼠疫患者會出現突發的病徵包括發燒、頭痛、發冷、疲倦以及受影響的淋巴結腫脹和疼痛。此脹大的淋巴結稱為「淋巴結炎」。這是常見的鼠疫類型,又稱為腺鼠疫。

當鼠疫桿菌侵入血液時,病情便發展成為敗血症鼠疫。透過血液感染可蔓延到身體其他器官,引致嚴重併發症。

患上肺鼠疫的病人會發燒、發冷、頭痛、全身疼痛、虛弱、胸口翳悶、咳出帶血的痰、呼吸困難;如不及早接受治理,病人可能很快便會死亡。患上這種最嚴重的類型的病人,具極高度的傳染性。

腺鼠疫的潛伏期一般為 2 - 6 天;而肺鼠疫的潛伏期一般為 1 - 4 天。

鼠疫是怎樣傳播的?

鼠疫是由受感染動物(主要是齧齒動物)身上的鼠疫耶爾森桿菌 跳蚤經叮咬而傳播。人類的皮膚若有傷口,而與帶菌動物的體液或組織接觸,或吸入患者的飛沫,亦可感染到鼠疫。腺鼠疫通常不會在人與人之間直接傳播,除了接觸受感染者淋巴結的膿液。肺鼠疫的傳染性極高,可透過吸入患者的飛沫於人與人之間傳播。

鼠疫的流行地區

除大洋洲外,動物鼠疫在所有洲皆發現。鼠疫曾在非洲、亞洲和南美洲爆發。自上世紀九十年代開始,大部分人類個案在非洲發生。流行最廣的三個國家是剛果民主共和國、馬達加斯加和秘魯。

怎樣治療鼠疫?

病者須被隔離和服用適當的抗生素。

如何預防鼠疫?

現時市面上並沒有預防鼠疫的疫苗。

外遊人士應避免到訪疫區。如果需要到疫區,應該採取下列的預防措施:

  • 穿着長袖衣物和長褲,並塗上昆蟲驅避劑/殺蟲劑,防止跳蚤叮咬。含避蚊胺的昆蟲驅避劑可塗在外露皮膚和衣服;含氯菊酯的殺蟲劑可塗在衣服表面,不可塗在皮膚。旅客可參閱衞生防護中心製作的「使用昆蟲驅避劑的注意事項 」
  • 避免到郊外、露營或狩獵;
  • 切勿接觸齧齒動物、動物屍體及其組織或受污染物件;
  • 避免密切接觸病人,尤其是咳嗽或肺部感染的病人;
  • 若到訪地區近來出現肺鼠疫個案,便要避免前往該區擠逼的地方。

到訪疫區後,如突然發燒、發冷、淋巴結疼痛、呼吸困難和咳嗽及/或痰中帶血,應立即求醫,並告知醫生近期的外遊紀錄。

如曾接觸肺鼠疫病人或有高風險接觸,例如被跳蚤叮咬,或直接接觸可能受感染動物的體液或組織,應立即求醫,以評估是否需服用預防藥物。旅客應避免自行服用抗生素,除非已諮詢醫護人員的意見。

 

 

最近修訂日期: 二零一七年十月二十三日