Travel related diseases

Print
 

Tick-borne encephalitis

What is Tick-borne encephalitis?

Tick-borne encephalitis (TBE) is an important cause of viral infections of the central nervous system in Europe and Asia. TBE is caused by a single-stranded RNA virus that belongs to the genus Flavivirus. There are 3 subtypes of TBE virus: European, Siberian, and Far Eastern. Most TBE virus infections result from tick bites, and TBE cases usually occur in the season when ticks are active. Approximately two-thirds of TBE virus infections are asymptomatic. Patients who develop symptoms often present with milder form of the disease with non-specific febrile illness, headache, myalgia and fatigue which last for several days. Up to two-thirds of the patients recover without further illness but some patients progress to a second phase of the disease and develop aseptic meningitis, encephalitis or myelitis. Disease severity increases with age and varies by TBE virus subtype. The Far Eastern subtype is associated with a more severe disease course with higher rates of severe neurologic deficits and a case-fatality ratio of 20%–40%.

How is it transmitted?

TBE virus is transmitted to humans through the bite of an infected tick or ingestion of unpasteurized dairy products (such as milk and cheese) from infected animals. The ticks of the Ixodes genus, mainly I. ricinus (European subtype) or I. persulcatus (Siberian and Far Eastern subtypes), act as both vector and reservoir of TBE virus. TBE is often acquired in endemic forested areas through outdoor activities such as camping, hiking, forestry or military training. After a tick bite, the incubation period for TBE ranges from 4 to 28 days with a median of 8 days. The incubation for milkborne exposure is usually shorter (3-4 days).

How to prevent it?

During their stay in an endemic area, travellers should avoid tick bites by wearing long-sleeved clothes and trousers. They should apply DEET-containing insect repellent on exposed body parts and permethrin-containing insecticide spray onto clothes. If an attached tick is found on the body, gently remove it by grasping its head with tweezers or fine-tipped forceps close to the skin, then disinfect the bite area and wash hands with soap and water. Do not crush or twist the tick during removal. In addition, travellers should avoid consumption of unpasteurized dairy products in endemic areas.

TBE vaccine offers effective protection. According to the World Health Organization, TBE vaccine should only be offered to at-risk travelers, such as people travelling from non-endemic areas to endemic areas if their visits will include extensive outdoor activities. Outside countries or areas at risk, TBE vaccines may not be licensed and will have to be obtained by special request.

In Hong Kong, the TBE vaccine is not registered in the local market. Registered medical practitioners can apply the license for importation of TBE vaccine for a particular patient in Hong Kong and the application will be considered by the Drug Registration and Import/Export Control Division of the Drug Office of the Department of Health on a case by case basis. Interested registered medical practitioners may refer to the following link for the application procedure and documents required:

http://www.drugoffice.gov.hk/eps/do/en/pharmaceutical_trade/guidelines_forms/faq.html
(Q.20)

How to treat it?

There is no specific antiviral treatment for TBE. Treatment mainly consists of supportive care and management of complications.

 

Last revision date: 10 October 2012

旅遊相關疾病

列印
 

蜱傳腦炎

蜱傳腦炎是什麼?

在歐洲和亞洲,蜱傳腦炎是引致中樞神經系統病毒感染的重要原因。蜱傳腦炎是由黃病毒屬的一種單鏈核糖核酸病毒引起的。蜱傳腦炎病毒有三種亞型: 歐洲亞型、西伯利亞亞型和遠東亞型。蜱傳腦炎主要經蜱叮咬而感染,通常發生在蜱活躍的季節。大約三分之二的受感染者沒有病徵,而出現病徵的病人,通常病情較輕,會出現一般性的發熱症狀、頭痛、肌肉疼痛和疲倦,病徵可持續數天。最多達三分之二的病人其後會完全康復,但有些病人會進入第二階段,出現無菌性腦膜炎、腦炎和脊髓炎。疾病嚴重程度隨患者的年齡而增加,並因病毒亞型而不同。遠東亞型蜱傳腦炎病徵較嚴重,病人出現嚴重神經功能受損的情況較常見,病死率達20-40%。

蜱傳腦炎是怎樣傳染的?

蜱傳腦炎病毒經受感染的蜱叮咬或進食來自受感染動物而未經消毒的奶類製品(例如奶和芝士)而感染人類。硬蜱屬蜱,主要是篦子硬蜱(歐洲亞型)和全溝硬蜱(西伯利亞亞型和遠東亞型),是蜱傳腦炎病毒的傳病媒介和宿主。蜱傳腦炎常因在此病流行的森林地區進行戶外活動而感染,例如露營、遠足、林業務或軍事訓練。經蜱叮咬而感染的潛伏期為4-28天, 中位數為8天。經進食奶類製品而感染的潛伏期通常較短(3-4天)。

怎樣預防蜱傳腦炎?

在流行地區逗留期間,旅遊人士應穿著長袖上衣及長褲避免被蜱叮咬。他們應在外露的皮膚塗上含避蚊胺 (DEET)成分的昆蟲驅避劑及將氯菊酯(一種殺蟲劑)噴灑在衣服表面。如發現有蜱依附在身體上,應用鑷子或尖鉗子貼近皮膚並抓牢其頭部,慢慢地施壓把蜱拉出,然後消毒被叮咬的部位,並用肥皂及清水洗手。在移除蜱時要小心不要把蜱捏碎或扭斷。另外旅遊人士應避免在流行區疫區進食未經消毒的奶類製品。

蜱傳腦炎疫苗可提供有效的保護。根據世界衞生組織的建議,蜱傳腦炎疫苗只應提供給有感染風險的旅客,例如由非流行區前往流行區,並大部分時間進行戶外活動的旅遊人士。在沒有感染風險的國家或地區,蜱傳腦炎疫苗可能沒有註冊,需要特別申請。

在香港,蜱傳腦炎疫苗未在本地市場註冊。註冊醫生可為某特定病人向衞生署藥物辦公室藥物註冊及進出口管制部就進口蜱傳腦炎疫苗申請進口許可證。有興趣的註冊醫生可查閱以下連結瞭解所需申請程序及文件:

https://www.drugoffice.gov.hk/eps/do/tc/pharmaceutical_trade/guidelines_forms/faq.html
(問題20)

怎樣醫治蜱傳腦炎?

沒有特定的抗病毒藥物治療蜱傳腦炎,治療主要靠支援性治療和處理併發症。

 

 

 

 

最近修訂日期: 二零一八年七月三十日