Travel related diseases

Print
 

Yellow Fever

What is Yellow Fever?

Yellow Fever is an acute infection caused by the yellow fever virus. The incubation period is about 3 to 6 days.

The majority of persons infected with yellow fever virus have no illness or only mild illness. Some people may develop sudden onset of fever, chills, headache, back pain, generalised muscle pain, weakness, fatigue, nausea and vomiting. The condition of most patients improves and their symptoms disappear after 3 – 4 days. Those who recover from yellow fever usually have lasting immunity against subsequent infection. However, about 15% of the symptomatic cases will progress to a more severe form of the disease. The severe form is characterised by high fever, jaundice, bleeding, and eventually shock and failure of multiple organs; in some, infection may be complicated by secondary bacterial infection. Fatality rate among severe cases is about 20 – 50%.

How does it spread?

Yellow Fever is endemic in tropical areas of Africa and Latin America (see map below). It is transmitted via the bite of infected mosquitoes. Mosquitoes feed on infected humans or animals mainly monkeys, and then pass on the infection when they feed on other humans or animals.

How can you prevent it?

Avoiding the bite of mosquito is the first line and the best defense against contracting Yellow Fever. You can take the following precautions in preventing mosquito bites:

  • Wear long-sleeved shirts and trousers;
  • Rest in air-conditioned or well-screened rooms;
  • Use aerosol insecticide indoor and use bed nets if sleeping areas are not air-conditioned or screened;
  • Use insect repellents containing DEET on exposed skin and clothing. For details about the use of insect repellents, please refer to Frequently Asked Questions.
  • If travelling in endemic rural areas, carry a portable bed net and apply permethrin on it as well as to clothes.

The World Health Organization (WHO) recommends immunisation for all travellers aged 9 months and above, travelling to and from at-risk areas, unless they are contraindicated for vaccination. For those who are contraindicated for vaccination, they should obtain a letter of exemption from the medical practitioner and seek advice from the relevant embassy before travel.

Travellers who are vaccinated against yellow fever will be given an International Certificate of Vaccination or Prophylaxis. Travellers should remember that the certificate is valid only 10 days after the vaccine is given. The first dose of vaccine takes 10 days to provide good protection, hence adequate time should be allowed for vaccination before departure.

Yellow fever is the only disease specified in the International Health Regulations (2005) (IHR (2005)) for which countries may require proof of vaccination from travellers as a condition of entry under certain circumstances. A list of countries with risk of yellow fever transmission and countries requiring yellow fever vaccination can be found on WHO website at http://www.who.int/ith/2017-ith-annex1.pdf?ua=1.

Following the amendment to the IHR (2005) on 11 July 2016, currently valid certificates continue to be valid for the life of the traveller indicated. Existing certificates do not need to be changed or modified to show they are valid for life.

How is it treated?

There is no specific drug treatment for yellow fever. Management is mainly for symptomatic relief. Associated bacterial infections can be treated with antibiotics. For severe forms of infection, supportive care may include intravenous fluid replacement, dialysis and blood transfusion.

If symptoms of infection occurred, one should consult medical advice as soon as possible. Patients carrying the virus should be isolated to prevent mosquito bites that may spread the disease to others.

Yellow Fever Africa, 2015


Yellow Fever Americas, 2015
 

Last revision date: 17 June 2016

旅遊相關疾病

列印
 

黃熱病

黃熱病是什麼?

黃熱病是一種由黃熱病病毒引致的急性傳染病。潛伏期約 3 – 6天。

大部分的黃熱病患者可以沒有或只有輕微病徵。部分患者會出現突發性發燒、發冷、頭痛、背痛、全身肌肉酸痛、乏力、疲倦、噁心和嘔吐。大多數患者的情況會好轉,病徵並於3 – 4天後消退。患者痊癒後一般可產生免疫力,避免再受感染。然而,約15%的患者會轉化成嚴重的疾病(如高燒、黃疸病、出血、休克和多重器官衰竭)。一些個案亦可能會出現繼發性細菌感染。嚴重病例的死亡率為 20 – 50%。

黃熱病是怎樣傳播的?

黃熱病病毒流行於非洲和拉丁美洲的熱帶地區(請參閱下圖)。病毒是透過受感染的蚊子叮咬而傳播。蚊子在叮咬患病的人或動物 (主要是猴子) 後,再透過叮咬將疾病傳播給其他人或動物。

怎樣才可以預防?

最重要及最佳預防黃熱病的方法是避免被蚊子叮咬,預防蚊咬的措施如下:

  • 穿著長袖上衣及長褲;
  • 於有空調或裝有防蚊網的地方休息;
  • 如果住宿的地方沒有隔蚊或空調設施,最好使用殺蚊噴劑及睡在蚊帳內;
  • 於外露的皮膚及衣服上搽上含有避蚊胺,即DEET驅蚊劑。關於使用驅蚊劑的詳情,請參閱本網站的常見問題
  • 如果旅行者要前往有黃熱病的山林地區,應攜帶蚊帳和將氯菊酯噴在衣服或蚊帳上以增加保護。

世界衛生組織建議,除了有禁忌症人士外,所有年齡9個月或以上需往返有感染風險地區的旅遊人士接種疫苗。不適宜接受注射的人士應向醫生索取一份不適合注射的證明書和向有關國家的大使館作出查詢。

預防黃熱病注射證明書在注射10天後才會生效。黃熱病預防疫苗在初次注射10天後才產生足夠的免疫力,因此外遊人士應在出發前預留充足的接種時間。

根據國際衞生條例(2005),黃熱病是唯一一種國家可要求旅客出示疫苗接種證明的疾病。有關不同國家感染黃熱病的風險和接種疫苗的要求,可參考世界衛生組織網頁 http://www.who.int/ith/ith-yellow-fever-annex1.pdf?ua=1

國際衞生條例(2005)已於2016年7月11日作出修訂。現時有效的證書將會持續有效至終生。現有的證書毋須作任何改變或修正以顯示該證書的終生效期。

黃熱病是怎樣治療的?

現時並沒有特定藥物治療黃熱病。治理方法主要是紓緩病徵。相關的細菌感染可用抗生素治療。在處理嚴重個案時,支援性治療可包括以靜脈注射來補充水分、血液透析和輸血等。

如發現有類似黃熱病的病徵,旅行者應盡早約見醫生。患者須接受隔離治療,以免被蚊子叮咬而再將病毒傳播他人

Yellow Fever Africa, 2015


Yellow Fever Americas, 2015
 

 

最近修訂日期: 二零一六年六月十七日