Special Populations

Print
 

Advice for pilgrims visiting Mecca, Saudi Arabia (Hajj and Umrah)

Pilgrims are advised to note the followings

  1. Vaccination against meningitis

    The Saudi Arabia government requires all pilgrims on entry to produce a certificate of vaccination against the meningococcal disease using the quadrivalent vaccine (serogroups A, C, W135 and Y). The certificate should be not more than 3 years and not less than 10 days before arrival.


  2. Vaccination against seasonal influenza

    The Saudi Ministry of Health recommends that international pilgrims be vaccinated against seasonal influenza before arrival into the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, particularly those at increased risk of severe influenza diseases, including pregnant women, children under 5 years, the elderly, and individuals with underlying health conditions such as HIV/AIDS, asthma, and chronic heart or lung diseases.


  3. Be Vigilant against Middle East Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus (MERS-CoV)

    Travellers should take note of MERS-CoV (formerly known as novel coronavirus). People may be infected upon exposure to animals (such as camels), environment or other confirmed patients (such as in a hospital setting). Infected persons may present with symptoms including fever, cough, and breathing difficulties. Most patients developed pneumonia.

    Based on current information, MERS-CoV could be spread from person to person through close contact. Therefore, if you are travelling to the Middle East for vacation or pilgrimage, please observe personal and environmental hygiene strictly at all times such as washing hands before touching eyes, nose and mouth, and after sneezing, coughing or cleaning the nose. Travellers should avoid consuming raw or undercooked animal products, including milk and meat, or foods which may be contaminated by animal secretions, excretions (such as urine) or products, unless they have been properly cooked, washed or peeled.

    Travellers are advised to avoid going to farms, barns or markets with camels; avoid contact with animals, especially camels (including riding camels or participating in any activity involving contact with camels), birds, poultry or sick people during the journey. Travellers should wash hands before and after touching animals in case of visits to farms, barns or markets. Travellers should also avoid close contact with sick people, especially with those suffering from acute respiratory infections, and avoid visit to healthcare settings with MERS patients.

    Pilgrims should be reminded that pre-existing major medical conditions are more likely to develop severe infection for MERS if they are exposed to the virus; thus, pilgrims should consult a health care provider before travelling to review the risk and assess whether making the pilgrimage is advisable. For further advice from the Saudi Ministry of Health, please see (http://www.moh.gov.sa/en/Hajj/Pages/HealthRegulations.aspx)

    Pilgrims should cover their mouth and nose when coughing or sneezing, and wash hands after contact with respiratory secretions. If suffering from acute febrile respiratory symptoms, keep a distance of one metre with other persons. If travellers develop a significant acute respiratory illness with fever and cough (severe enough to interfere with usual daily activities) during Umrah or Hajj, they should:

    • report to the medical staff accompanying the group or to the local health services;
    • cover their mouth and nose with a tissue when coughing or sneezing and discard the tissue in a lidded bin and wash hands afterwards, or, if this is not possible, cough or sneeze into upper sleeves of their clothing;
    • avoid attending crowded places and preferably isolate themselves until the end of the respiratory symptoms and, if isolation is not possible, use a tissue for covering nose and mouth or a surgical mask when in crowded places.

    Travellers who develop symptoms up to 14 days after their return from affected areas should put on face masks, seek medical attention and inform doctor of their travel history. Before departure, if you feel unwell, such as having fever, sore throat, muscle pain or cough, you are advised to seek medical attention and postpone the trip until recovery. For further information on MERS, please visit the Centre for Health Protection (CHP) website (http://www.chp.gov.hk).


  4. Other infectious diseases

    Updating immunization against vaccine-preventable diseases in all travellers is strongly recommended. With the recent resurgence of measles and rubella cases, special attention is needed for both of these vaccines to avoid widespread outbreaks with this virus during Hajj and Umra this year.

    Men are required to shave their heads after Hajj, and unclean blades can transmit disease. Male pilgrims should go to officially designated centers to be shaved, where barbers are licensed and use disposable, single-use blades.


  5. Food hygiene

    Fresh food carried by visitors and pilgrims are banned and not allowed into the country. Only properly canned food in very small amount which is enough for one person to the end of his or her trip is allowed. In addition, diarrhea is common during Hajj, so eat only food that is cooked and served hot and drink only beverages from sealed containers.


  6. Injury

    Try to avoid the most densely congested areas and always be aware of the location of emergency exits. Pilgrims can perform rituals during non-peak hours to avoid crowds.


  7. Heat stroke

    Temperatures in Mecca can exceed 37.8 ºC (100°F) in October. Heat exhaustion and heatstroke are leading causes of illness during Hajj. Pilgrims should drink plenty of water (bottled), wear sunscreen, rest, and seek shade as much as possible. Symptoms of heat-related illness can include profuse sweating, chills, headache, dizziness or confusion, and nausea. Travelers who develop these symptoms should move to a cool area and seek medical attention.


  8. Observe personal and environmental hygiene strictly at all times. For more information, please read the section on Travel Health Advice.


(Source: World Health Organization, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention & Ministry of Hajj, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia)

 

Last revision date: 21 August 2014

特殊社群

列印
 

給前往沙地阿拉伯麥加朝聖信徒的建議

前往朝聖的信徒,請注意下列事項:

  1. 流行性腦膜炎疫苗接種

    沙地阿拉伯政府規定所有朝聖者入境時需出示證明書以證明已經接種預防流行性腦膜炎的四價疫苗(ACYW135)。證明書應在抵步前最少十日但不多於三年內簽發。


  2. 季節性流感疫苗接種

    沙地阿拉伯衞生部建議各國朝聖者入境沙地阿拉伯前接種季節流感疫苗,特別是有較高風險患上嚴重流感人士,包括孕婦、5歲以下兒童、長者,和長期病患者,如愛滋病病毒感染/愛滋病、哮喘,和長期心血管疾病或肺病。


  3. 慎防中東呼吸綜合症病毒

    旅客應注意中東呼吸綜合症冠狀病毒(前稱新型冠狀病毒)。人類可能透過接觸動物(例如駱駝)、環境或確診病人(例如在醫院內)而受感染。患者可出現的病徵包括發燒,咳嗽和呼吸困難。多數患者患有肺炎。

    根據目前所掌握資料顯示,中東呼吸綜合症冠狀病毒會經由緊密接觸而出現人傳人的情況。因此,若你需要到中東旅遊或朝聖,請時刻注意個人及環境衞生,觸摸眼睛、鼻子和嘴巴前及打噴嚏、咳嗽或清潔鼻子後要清潔雙手。旅客應避免進食或飲用生或未熟透食物,包括奶和肉類,或食用可能被動物分泌物、排泄物 (例如尿液) 或產品染污的食物,除非已經煮熟、洗淨或妥為去皮。

    旅客應避免到訪農場、農莊或有駱駝的市集;亦應避免接觸動物(特別是駱駝,包括騎駱駝或涉及接觸駱駝的活動)、雀鳥、家禽或病人。一旦到訪農場、農莊或市場,接觸動物前後均應經常洗手。旅客應避免近距離接觸病人,特別是有呼吸道感染症狀的病人,及避免到中東呼吸綜合症病人入住的醫護環境。

    患有長期病的朝覲人士如接觸到中東呼吸綜合症的病毒,患上嚴重中東呼吸綜合症的機會會增加。因此,朝聖者應該於出發前諮詢醫生意見並評估旅遊風險。如需更多有關資料,可瀏覽沙地阿拉伯衞生部網頁
    ( http://www.moh.gov.sa/en/Hajj/Pages/HealthRegulations.aspx )。

    朝覲人士打噴嚏或咳嗽時應掩著口鼻,在接觸呼吸道分泌物後清潔雙手。如有急性發熱呼吸道症狀,應與其他人保持一米的距離。如果旅客在小朝或朝覲期間,出現顯著急性呼吸道病徵如發燒和咳嗽(嚴重程度足以干擾日常活動),他們應該:

    • 向隨團醫護人員或當地醫療服務處報告;
    • 打噴嚏或咳嗽時應用紙巾掩著口鼻,然後將紙巾妥善棄置於有蓋垃圾桶並徹底清潔雙手;如不可行,可咳嗽或打噴嚏到衣袖上;
    • 避免前往擠迫的場所和應自我隔離直至沒有呼吸道病徵; 如未能隔離,在擠迫的場所,應用紙巾或戴上外科口罩遮掩口鼻。

    曾到訪受影響地區的旅客,如在返港後14天內出現病徵,應佩戴口罩,立即求診,並告知醫生你的旅遊紀錄。若出發前感到不適,例如出現發燒、喉嚨痛、肌肉疼痛或咳嗽,應盡快求醫並延遲行程,直至痊癒。如需更多有關中東呼吸綜合症的資料,可瀏覽衞生防護中心網頁(CHP) website (http://www.chp.gov.hk)。


  4. 其他傳染病

    強烈建議所有旅客接受疫苗可預防疾病的疫苗接種。隨著近期在其他國家爆發的麻疹和德國麻疹個案,旅客需要特別注意這兩種疾病的防疫注射,以避免此病毒在今年的朝聖和小朝期間,發生大規模爆發。

    男信徒需要於朝聖後理髮,而使用不潔刀片理髮可以傳播疾病。男信徒應該去官方指定的中心進行理髮因為持牌的理髮師會使用一次性和用完即棄的的刀片。


  5. 食物衞生

    沙地阿拉伯禁止遊客和朝聖者攜帶新鮮食物進入。朝聖者只可攜帶小量,並僅足夠維持一人到行程結束分量的罐頭食品。另外,腹瀉是朝聖期間很常見的問題。朝聖者應該徹底煮熟且趁熱食用食物,並應只飲用罐裝飲品。


  6. 避免受傷

    儘量避免到人多擠迫的地方及應留意緊急出口位置。朝聖者可以在非高峰時段進行儀式,以避免人潮。


  7. 謹防中暑

    麥加在10月的溫度可以超過攝氏37.8度(即華氏100度)。在朝聖期間,熱衰竭和中暑的情況很常見。朝聖者應該補充大量水分 (喝瓶裝水)、使用太陽油、充分休息和儘量選擇有遮蔭的地方。熱衰竭和中暑的症狀包括大量出汗、顫抖、頭痛、頭暈或神志不清以及噁心。旅客如出現這些症狀,應該到陰涼處,並盡快求醫。


  8. 時刻注意個人及環境衞生。 如需更多資訊,請參閱本網站的保健建議欄


(資料來源:世界衞生組織、美國疾病控制及預防中心及沙地阿拉伯朝覲部)

 

 

最近修訂日期: 二零一四年八月二十一日