Travel related diseases

Print
 

Enteric Fevers

What are Enteric Fevers?

Enteric Fevers refer to typhoid fever and paratyphoid fever. Typhoid Fever is a bacterial disease caused by the bacterium Salmonella typhi. It is characterized by insidious onset of sustained fever, malaise, loss of appetite, severe headache, enlargement of spleen, and constipation or diarrhoea. One out of ten patients may die if untreated but the rate can be drastically reduced to one out of a hundred if early medical treatment is given.

Paratyphoid Fever presents a similar picture, but tends to be milder, and the death rate is much lower. It is caused by the Salmonella enteritidis bacteria.

For Typhoid Fever, incubation period varies from 3 days to 3 months with a usual range of 1-3 weeks. For Paratyphoid Fever it ranges from 1 to 10 days.

How do they spread?

Humans are the main reservoir for both kinds of bacteria. Enteric Fevers spread through food and water contaminated by stool and urine of patients and carriers. Carriers are those who recover from Typhoid Fever but continue to carry the bacteria. So you can get infected if you take food or drink beverages that have been handled by a person who is shedding the bacteria or if sewage contaminated with the bacteria gets into the water you use for drinking or washing food.

How can you prevent them?

The golden rule is to avoid risky food and drinks, e.g. food and beverages from unhygienic food vendors, undercooked food (especially oysters), exposed cut fruits, raw vegetables and unpasteurized milk. Hand-washing before preparing food, before meals and after going to the toilet are essential. These measures will also help protect you from other illnesses like Cholera, Hepatitis A, Dysentery and other causes of travellers' diarrhoea.

Oral and injectable vaccines against Typhoid Fever are available. Immunization is advised for international travelers to endemic areas, especially if travel will likely involve exposure to unsafe food and water, or close contacts with indigenous populations in rural areas. Vaccination should be completed at least one week before you travel. The oral, live vaccine requires 3 or 4 doses, two days apart. The injectable vaccine requires a single dose.

How are they treated?

Enteric Fevers are treated with antibiotics. Appropriate therapy started in the early stage of disease, is highly successful. The death rate should be under one percent and few complications should occur. The patient should wash hands carefully with soap and water after going to the toilet, and not prepare or serve food for other people. This will reduce the chance of passing the bacteria to other people. The doctor will perform repeated stool cultures to ensure that no causative bacteria remain in the patient's body. All members of the family and the travel group will need to be examined to detect any further cases and carrier.

 

Last revision date: 10 October 2012

旅游相关疾病

列印
 

肠热病

肠热病是什么?

肠热病是指伤寒热及副伤寒热。伤寒热是由沙门氏菌类其中的一种病菌所引起的。患者会有持续发热、疲倦、食欲不振、严重头痛、脾脏胀大、便秘或肚泻的情况出现。如缺乏医治,死亡率可能达十份之一,但若及早治理,可锐减至百份之一以下。

副伤寒热的病征与伤寒热相似,但程度一般较轻,而死亡率亦比伤寒热低很多。它是由另一类的沙门氏菌所引起的。

伤寒热的潜伏期介乎三天至三个月,一般则介乎一至三星期。副伤寒热的潜伏期则介乎一至十天。

肠热病是怎样传播的?

人类是这两类病菌的主要宿主。肠热病的传播途径是经由一些受到病者或带菌者的粪便或尿液所沾染的饮食。带菌者是一些经感染后而康复的人士,但在体内仍存着病菌。若食物及饮品曾由一些不断排放病菌的人员处理、或饮用和冲洗食物的水受到污水所污染,便有机会传播肠热病。

怎样预防肠热病?

最好的方法是避免食用不洁的饮食,如一些由不乎卫生的路边食档出售的食物、未经煮熟的食物(尤其是生蚝)、切开而无遮盖的水果、生冷的蔬菜、及未经消毒的奶。预备食物前、吃饭前及如厕后均要洗手。这样不但能预防伤寒病,亦能预防其他肠道传染病如霍乱、甲型肝炎、痢疾及其他引致旅游者腹泻的病因。

预防疫苗分口服及注射两类。疫苗适用于一些要到病发率高的地方的国际旅游人士,尤其是若他们会容易食用到不洁净饮食、或与当地乡民接触频密。旅游人士须于出发前最少一星期接受疫苗。口服疫苗共需三至四剂,每隔二天服一剂;而注射用疫苗则注射一次便可。

如何治疗肠热病?

抗生素可用以治疗肠热病,尤其于病发初期更为有效。及早治疗可以减少并发症的发生,而死亡率亦可降至不足百分之一。病者应于如厕后用肥皂和水洗手,切勿为他人煮食或处理食物,以免把病菌传开。医生会替病人重覆作粪便培养检验,以确保体内病菌已完全清除。家人及同行旅游者亦可能需要接受检验,以侦测有无其他患者及带菌者。

 

 

最近修订日期: 二零一二年十月十日