Travel related diseases

Print
 

Tetanus

What is Tetanus?

Tetanus is an infection caused by the bacterium Clostridium tetani, which produces toxins that attack the nervous system. The incubation period is 3-21 days. The patient usually presents with painful muscular contractions, primarily over the jaws and neck; the trunk is sometimes affected. In severe cases, infected persons may not be able to swallow or open his/her mouth. When tetanus affects muscles that help to breathe, the patient can die very quickly.

How does it spread?

The bacteria are found in soil and animal faeces. They get into the body through a break in the skin, such as a cut, puncture or sore. Infection can also occur after a burn or animal bite. Tetanus does not spread from one person to another.

How can you prevent it?

Travellers are advised to complete the vaccination before travelling as Tetanus can be completely preventable by active tetanus immunization. Generally, it provides protection for ten years. Consult your family physician if there is doubt over the details of immunization program and to check whether the vaccination has been completed.

If injury is sustained during travel, travellers should clean the wound with antiseptics and cover the wound properly. If necessary, consult a physician.

How can it be treated?

Affected persons should be hospitalised for treatment including tetanus immunoglobulin, antibiotics and thorough wound treatment. In severe cases, muscle relaxants, tracheostomy and mechanical ventilation to assist breathing may be required. Active immunisation should be started concurrently with therapy if there is incomplete, uncertain or no history of immunisation.

 

Last revision date: 10 October 2012

旅游相关疾病

列印
 

破伤风

破伤风是什么?

破伤风是由破伤风梭状芽胞杆菌引起的疾病,此细菌可产生毒素破坏神经系统。潜伏期一般为三至二十一日。病人通常会因肌肉挛缩而感到痛楚,最初在上下腭及颈部,身躯有时亦会受影响。病情严重者不能下咽或张嘴。破伤风一旦影响帮助呼吸的肌肉组织,可令病人迅速死亡。

破伤风是怎样传播的?

细菌可生长于泥土和动物粪便,并会透过皮肤表面的伤口(例如割伤、刺伤、甚或很微细的伤口)入侵人体。烧伤或动物咬伤后亦可感染破伤风,但破伤风菌并不会人传人。

怎样预防破伤风?

旅游者应在出发前应完成破伤风预防疫苗接种程序。完成接种可有效预防破伤风最少十年。旅游者如对疫苗注射有问题或不清楚曾否完成接种,可谘询家庭医生。

若在旅程中受伤而怀疑伤口受到感染,旅游者应立即以消毒剂清洗伤口和,然后妥善包紥。如有需要,找医生治理。

如何治疗破伤风?

患者应留院接受破伤风免疫球蛋白、抗生素等治疗,并彻底治理伤口。病情严重者或须施以肌肉松弛剂、气管造口术和装置呼吸器协助呼吸。若过去没有完成破伤风疫苗接种,在施行疗程的同时亦须接种疫苗以产生自动免疫。

 

 

 

 

最近修订日期: 二零一七年二月二十二日