Travel related diseases

Print
 

Japanese Encephalitis

What is Japanese Encephalitis?

Japanese encephalitis is a mosquito-borne disease caused by the Japanese encephalitis virus. The incubation period is about 4-14 days. Mild infections may occur without apparent symptoms other than fever with headache. More severe infection is marked by quick onset of headache, high fever, neck stiffness, impaired mental state, coma, tremors, occasional convulsions (especially in children) and paralysis. The case-fatality rate can be as high as 30% among those with symptoms. Of those who survive, 20-30% may have neurological consequences.

How does it spread?

The virus is transmitted by the bite of infected Culex mosquitoes. The mosquitoes breed where there is abundant water such as rice paddies and become infected by feeding on pigs and wild birds infected with the Japanese encephalitis virus. The disease is not directly transmitted from person to person.

How can you prevent the disease?

Avoiding mosquito bites is the first line and the best defense against contracting Japanese encephalitis. The following precautions in preventing mosquito bites should be taken:

  • Avoid going to rural areas from dusk till dawn when the mosquitoes spreading this virus are most active
  • Wear loose, light-coloured, long-sleeved tops and trousers;
  • Avoid using fragrant cosmetics or skin care products;
  • Rest in air-conditioned or well-screened rooms;
  • Use aerosol insecticide indoor and use bed nets if sleeping areas are not air-conditioned or screened;
  • Use insect repellents containing DEET on exposed skin and clothing. For details about the use of insect repellents, please refer to Frequently Asked Questions;
  • Re-apply insect repellents according to label instructions;
  • If travelling in endemic rural areas, carry a portable bed net and apply permethrin on it as well as to clothes. Permethrin should not be applied to skin.

The second line of defense is vaccination. It is recommended for travellers who plan to stay one month or longer in endemic countries, particularly in rural areas, and for short-term (less than one month) travellers if they plan to have significant extensive outdoor or night-time exposure in rural areas during the transmission seasonof the disease. Please refer to Japanese encephalitis vaccination for more information about the vaccine.

How is it treated?

There is no specific treatment for this disease. The mainstay of treatment is supportive.

Where is it found?

It occurs mainly in the rural and agricultural areas of Asia and Western Pacific Region. Largely as a result of immunization, its incidence has been declining in Japan and the Republic of Korea and in some regions of China, and more recently in Nepal, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Vietnam. The disease is also reported from Bangladesh, parts of India and Pakistan, and from Cambodia, the Lao People’s Democratic Republic and the Philippines. Transmission is mainly related to the rainy season in Southeast Asia, but year-round transmission occurs, particularly in tropical climate zones. In the temperate regions of China, Japan, the Korean peninsula and eastern parts of the Russian Federation, transmission occurs mainly during the summer and autumn.

 

Last revision date: 1 August 2016

旅遊相關疾病

列印
 

日本腦炎

日本腦炎是什麼 ?

日本腦炎是由蚊傳播的日本腦炎病毒所引起的疾病。此病的潛伏期約為4至14日。病情輕微者除發燒及頭痛外,一般不會有其他顯著病徵。病情嚴重者則病發得快,並出現頭痛、發高燒、頸部僵硬、神志不清、昏迷、震顫、抽搐(尤其是兒童)及癱瘓等症狀。出現病徵的患者病死率可高達30%。康復者中也會有20%至30%可能出現神經系統的後遺症。

日本腦炎怎樣傳播的?

日本腦炎是由庫蚊叮咬而傳播。蚊子於稻田等大量積水的地方繁殖,叮咬帶病毒的豬隻或野生雀鳥後就會受感染,再於叮咬人類或動物時將病毒傳播。此病不會直接由人傳人。

怎樣預防日本腦炎?

最重要及最佳預防日本腦炎的方法是避免被蚊子叮咬,預防蚊咬的措施如下:

  • 蚊子於黃昏至黎明時分最為活躍,因此這段時間應避免前往郊區。
  • 時常穿著寬鬆、淺色的長袖上衣及長褲;
  • 避免使用有香味的化妝品或護膚品;
  • 住宿於有空調或裝有防蚊網的地方;
  • 如果住宿的地方沒有隔蚊或空調設施,最好使用殺蚊噴劑及睡在蚊帳內;
  • 於外露的皮膚及衣服上搽上含有避蚊胺,即DEET驅蚊劑。關於使用驅蚊劑的詳情,請參閱本網站的常見問題
  • 依照指示重複使用驅蚊劑;
  • 如到流行地區的郊外旅行,應帶備便攜式蚊帳,並在蚊帳上使用氯菊酯(一種殺蟲劑)。切勿將氯菊酯塗在皮膚上。

第二個預防方法是接受預防疫苗。疫苗適用於準備前往日本腦炎流行的區(尤其是當地郊區)並逗留一個月或以上的旅客。對於一些短期旅遊(不足一個月),旅客如果計劃於疾病傳播季節在郊區並大部份時間進行戶外或夜間活動,亦應接種疫苗。有關疫苗詳情可參閱日本腦炎疫苗接種篇。

怎樣醫治日本腦炎?

日本腦炎並沒有特定的治療方法,醫生一般對患者施以支援性治療。

什麼地方有日本腦炎?

此病主要流行於亞洲及西太平洋地區的郊外及農村。主要由於日本腦炎疫苗的接種,在中國的部分地區、日本和韓國,以及最近在尼泊爾、斯里蘭卡、泰國和越南,日本腦炎的個案已經在下降中。孟加拉、印度及巴基斯坦的一些地區、柬埔寨、老撾及菲律賓仍然錄得日本腦炎個案。於東南亞地區,日本腦炎個案主要於雨季出現,但在熱帶氣候區則全年發生。而在中國、日本、朝鮮半島和俄羅斯東部地區的溫帶地區,日本腦炎個案則發生於夏季和秋季出現。

日本腦炎2013年世界分佈圖

 

 

最近修訂日期: 二零一五年二月九日