Travel related diseases

Print
 

Leishmaniasis

What is Leishmaniasis?

Leishmaniasis is a disease caused by protozoan parasites. Most people infected by the parasite do not develop any symptom at all in their life. There are three main forms of leishmaniasis: cutaneous, visceral or kala-azar, and mucocutaneous.

Cutaneous leishmaniasis is the most common form. It causes skin ulcers over the face, arms and legs. When the ulcers heal, they leave permanent scars. The majority of cases occur in Afghanistan, Algeria, Brazil, Colombia, the Islamic Republic of Iran, Pakistan, Peru, Saudi Arabia and Syria.

Visceral leishmaniasis (also known as kala-azar) affects internal organs of the body. This form is characterized by irregular bouts of fever, substantial weight loss, swelling of the spleen and liver, and anaemia. If the disease is not treated, the fatality rate in developing countries can be as high as 100% within 2 years. Recurrent epidemics in East Africa (Ethiopia, Kenya, South Sudan and Sudan) have caused high morbidity and mortality in affected communities.

In mucocutaneous leishmaniasis, the lesions can lead to partial or total destruction of the mucous membranes of the nose, mouth and throat cavities and surrounding tissues. Most reported cases occur in South America (Bolivia, Brazil and Peru).

How does it spread?

The parasites are transmitted by the bite of an infected female sandfly. The risk is highest in the evening and at night when sandflies are the most active.

How can you prevent it?

Currently, there is no vaccine available. The best way to prevent leishmaniasis is by avoiding sandfly bites:

  • Avoid outdoor activities or visit forest areas, especially in the evening and at night;
  • Wear long-sleeved tops and trousers;
  • Rest in air-conditioned or well-screened rooms;
  • Use aerosol insecticide indoor and use bed nets if sleeping areas are not air-conditioned or screened;
  • Use insect repellents containing DEET on exposed skin and clothings. For details about the use of insect repellents, please refer to Frequently Asked Questions.
  • If travelling in endemic rural areas, carry a portable bed net with fine-mesh (at least 10 holes per cm) and apply permethrin on it as well as to clothes.

How is it treated?

There is treatment available for different forms of leishmaniasis. People should consult their doctor early even if their skin lesions have already healed.

 

Last revision date: 17 August 2017

旅遊相關疾病

列印
 

利什曼病

利什曼病是甚麼?

利什曼病是一種由原生動物寄生蟲引致的疾病。大多數被寄生蟲感染的人一生中都不會出現任何症狀。利什曼病主要引起皮膚、內臟(黑熱病)和粘膜皮膚三種類型。

皮膚利什曼病是最常見的類型。患者的臉部,手臂和腿部的皮膚會出現潰瘍。當潰瘍癒合時,會留下永久性傷疤。大部分病例出現在阿富汗、阿爾及利亞、巴西、哥倫比亞、伊朗、巴基斯坦、秘魯、沙地阿拉伯、敘利亞。

內臟利什曼病(又稱黑熱病)主要影響身體內臟器官。病發時可出現不規則發燒、體重下降、脾臟/肝臟發大和貧血。如果不接受治療,於發展中國家兩年內的死亡率可高達100%。反復的疫情為東非(埃塞俄比亞、肯尼亞、南蘇丹和蘇丹) 受影響的社區帶來相當高發病率和死亡率。

粘膜皮膚利什曼病的患者會出現嚴重潰瘍,可導致鼻、口和喉腔及周圍組織的粘膜部分完全破壞。大部分病例出現在南美洲(玻利維亞、巴西、秘魯)。

利什曼病是怎樣傳播的?

利什曼病的寄生蟲是經由雌性沙蠅叮咬所傳播。沙蠅在黃昏和晚上最為活躍。

怎樣預防利什曼病?

現時並沒有一種有效的疫苗來預防利什曼病。因此,最佳的預防方法就是避免給沙蠅叮咬。預防措施如下:

  • 在黃昏和晚上時避免到戶外或樹林之中活動;
  • 時常穿著長袖子的襯衫和褲子;
  • 住宿於有空調或裝有防蚊網的地方;
  • 如果住宿的地方沒有隔蚊或空調設施,最好使用殺蚊噴劑及睡在蚊帳內;
  • 於外露的皮膚及衣服上搽上含有避蚊胺,即DEET驅蚊劑。關於使用驅蚊劑的詳情,請參閱本網站的常見問題
  • 如果旅行者要前往有利什曼病的山林地區,應攜帶網孔比較密(每厘米至少有10個網孔) 的蚊帳和將氯菊酯噴在衣服或蚊帳上以增加保護。

怎樣治療利什曼病?

現時有針對不同種類利什曼病的藥物。即使皮膚病變已經癒合,患者也應盡早諮詢醫生。

 

 

最近修訂日期: 二零一七年八月十七日